Need help figuring out what I have?

Reaction score
*Sorry if this is not in the correct sub forum*
I recently purchased a DJI Phantom (I believe it is a Phantom 2-has a GoPro Hero Black so I don't believe it's a P2 Vision). The drone itself has some upgrades but I'm a newbie and unsure exactly what they are/do. I've attached a photo so that hopefully someone can tell me what I have and what I need to get.
I would like to get a FPV monitor to attach to the controller. I believe the drone already has the transmitter (?) attached to send a single to a monitor. What kind of monitor do I need to get to achieve this, and how do I connect it to the camera once I get the monitor? I'm sure these are "basic" questions but as I said I'm really green to this and all the lingo that goes with this hobby. Thank you in advance.

IMG_0726_zpsrznzja8x.jpg

It is a P2 unsure if V1 or V2, has the FPV transmitter and IOSD, you just need a monitor (or goggles) that supports the channels the video transmitter is on, if you can read what the board with the antenna on is that should give you the type needed, most are usually on Fat Shark frequencies but there are others too, if you know someone with a monitor or goggles on 5.8ghz they could tell you also. I use the same setup :)

It will be transmitting as soon as you switch the GoPro on, press record on your GoPro and then start the P2 up and off you go, you just need a monitor to receive the image.

Last edited:
Reactions: Outaline
It is a P2 unsure if V1 or V2, has the FPV transmitter and IOSD, you just need a monitor (or goggles) that supports the channels the video transmitter is on, if you can read what the board with the antenna on is that should give you the type needed, most are usually on Fat Shark frequencies but there are others too, if you know someone with a monitor or goggles on 5.8ghz they could tell you also. I use the same setup :)