Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. datsunjay

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi all

    Recently purchased my phantom 4. I noticed that when I turn of the mobile data connection on my phone that the controller won't connect to the drone.

    I didn't think a data connection was needed to connect the controller and drone, I thought it was only needed to load maps while flying?

    Thanks
    Jay
     
  2. r62ewa

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    145
    There is no need for a data connection, if there was I wouldn't be flying.
     
  3. datsunjay

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's what I thought. Any idea why my controller wouldn't connect to the drone unless I turned the mobile data on?
    Thanks
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,959
    Likes Received:
    5,581
    Location:
    US
    What happens when your mobile data is off and it does not connect? Please be as detailed as possible.
     
  5. datsunjay

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK so basically I turned off my WiFi on my phone to take the phsntom out for a flight, bearing in mind I'm only a beginner and this was only my second flight. I decided to also turn off my mobile data but the controller wouldn't connect to the drone. It just Said no connection and that I needed to turn the drone on however the drone was already on.
    I turned off the controller and then turned it back on and still no connection. I then turned my mobile data connection back on and the controller connected to the drone right away.
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,959
    Likes Received:
    5,581
    Location:
    US
    Try starting up like this:

    1) Turn on your remote controller.
    2) Turn on your Phantom.
    3) Wait 30 seconds.
    4) Start DJI GO.
     
  7. datsunjay

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Great thanks, I'll try that later and let you know how I get on
     
  8. r62ewa

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    145
    My routine is to:
    1. Start remote
    2. Connect Ipad to remote
    3. Start DJI Go App
    4. Start Phantom 4
    Never had any issues using this routine and I have no cellular or mobile.