Near crash after Warning:Propulsions output is limited

Reaction score
Hey guys
I am relatively new to flying my phantom 3 prof ( ~5 months) and yesterday was the first major close call I had. I was flying around lake tahoe and my first two flights were uneventful. As soon as I took off for the third I got a warning that the propulsion output was limited to protect battery. I'd never seen this before. Then the bird started to descend and was very difficult to control. Had to fight to bring it back and ended up having to sort of crash land it next to me out of fear that it would hit a tree. I uploaded the log to healthy drones and have included the link. I've read a little about people having similar problems but there wasn't a clear consensus as to what causes it. any insight would be greatly appreciated
Thanks and happy flying

HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

Reactions: karamazin
The battery was nearly depleted when you took off. That warning prevented the battery from shutting off mid-flight. Next time, it would be best to take off with a fully charged battery.

Your battery will normally be around 30% when landing. It's better to watch the voltage though.

Under Notifications you can see two messages saying "Mode changed to AutoLanding" and "Critically low power, the aircraft will land now. You can throttle up to reduce the speed of decent "

That's way you are struggling to keep it in the air. Probably kicked in around 35%. This is the Critical Battery Warning threshold I think, this settings can be lowered in the DJI GO app.

Edit:
From the manual: When the Critical battery level warning is triggered and the aircraft begins to land automatically,
you may push the throttle upward to make the aircraft hover at its current altitude, giving you an
opportunity to navigate to a more appropriate landing location.

Last edited: