Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

ND filter on camera

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by John LF, Dec 10, 2013.

  1. John LF

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did anyone notice sudden changes in exposure with the Vision camera?

    I get small flashes from time to time when the light changes, I'm assuming it's the ND filter coming on or off.

    Anyone else found a solution for this?
     
  2. IAP

    IAP

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    WOW, I did not realise the camera has a built in ND filter, is that correct?

    I thought ND filters were optical not electronic?

    Out of curiosity I did place an ND filter over the lense on a bright summer day, the colours seemed richer.
     
  3. arinvideo

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    1
    I doubt its a built in ND filter, more likely that shutter/aperture/iso is changing.
     
  4. Driffill

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    3
    +1

    Think of an ND filter as a pair of sunglasses on your eyes :)
     
  5. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    The Vision camera doesn't have an ND filter, it uses ES (electronic shutter). And yes, placing an optical ND over it when shooting on super-bright days can help the MOS imager reproduce color & contrast more naturally. Most of the time it's not really necessary as it does a great job with exposure and latitude. You can dial down the EV setting thru the Vision App by one or two points if shooting on bright days when things begin to look washed out particularly in the highlights.

    iDrone
     
  6. John LF

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    THanks IDrone will play around with the EV settings.
     
  7. ValHeliRC

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I Got the same problem when recording video at 30fps. Just change the recording settings at 60fps 720p or 1080i/60. I think in bright days the shutter speed increases the speed to compensate the amount of light resulting in those annoying flashes. Also the jello effect is perceptible at 30fps.

    I ordered the filter holder and a kit of filters (ND 3 stops, CP) to solve this
     
  8. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Unfortunately this camera has neither manual exposure, nor exposure lock - so yes, it will be automatically changing exposure all the time, as it sees fit. You can help limit this by:

    1) set ISO to 100 (not AUTO)
    2) set White Balance to Sunny (not AUTO)
    3) set Exposure Metering to Average (empty circle icon, I believe) so it uses the entire picture to calculate exposure, not just some small, rapidly-changing point in the center.
     
  9. ValHeliRC

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has sense Jimre. When I record at 720p/60fps I get no flashes. Have you recorded at 1080p/30fps with this settings with no flashes?
     
  10. jimre

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    I haven't recorded much of anything for a long time, except static test shots. Unfortunately 6 weeks of nearly-constant rain here east of Seattle. But I don't what you mean by "flashes". Previously haven't experienced anything like that, and the videos I shot were mostly at 1080p30. Some sudden exposure changes are to be expected on any moving auto-exposure camera, though - worse if you choose spot-metering and also allow ISO to change automatically.
     
  11. cavaleiro01

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    +1! :)