Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Naza or Phantom Mode with the new firmware?

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by CoolClownFish, Apr 18, 2015.

  1. CoolClownFish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    23
    I am wondering what everyone's opinions are on weather to use Naza mode or Phantom mode? I am not an expert by any means but seem to be flying pretty well. I am thinking about using the way-points and I definitely want the toggle on the transmitter for RTH in case of emergency but I don't want to crash or cause a flyaway.

    I have set the RTH Altitude to 100ft and instead of manual I have the toggle set to Failsafe. Other than that everything is set to normal. Opinions, Thoughts, Warnings???????
     
    Fplvert likes this.
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,906
    Likes Received:
    5,567
    Location:
    US
    There is no reason not to enable Naza mode. With both S1 and S2 in the top position, you'll be flying like you're in Phantom mode. But, you'll be able to take advantage of the other functions that Naza mode provides if needed.
     
  3. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    What you don't have in the Phantom mode is ATTI in the second position on S1. Both positions are GPS and the third is either normal or failsafe. In order to have ATTI in second position on S1 you would have to switch form Phantom to Naza-M mode.

    Yes I use the Naza-M mode for the ATTI but not the IOC as I have no use for it in the video work I do with it.
     
    #3 jason, Apr 18, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2015
  4. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    Good post!
    S2 (left switch) all the way back is Home Lock. Invaluable feature if you lose orientation!
     
  5. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    The reason for not using IOC is simple I'm a videographer and video tape using LOS and my altitude is set at 305' which I rarely exceed 100' and the radius is set for 1650' and again rarely fly more than 200 feet. The only for needing ATTI is to be able to have as smooth a video as possible without have minor corrections while filming by the GPS.
     
  6. Atomic08

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    CCF..I have the same concerns that I posted just below your post in RTH..being new to this I would feel a little more comfortable if there was a lock on the s1 and s2 switch so I wouldn't accidentally move the switches..It is very windy here today and when the wind dies down I am gonna try the Naza mode and ploy with the HL and Cl features....BYW..msinger has been a LOT of help to me! Good luck in your adventures
     
    CoolClownFish likes this.
  7. CoolClownFish

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    23
    Wind just died down here so I am heading out to check it out now. I'll post back in a few.
     
  8. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,104
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    If you feel that S1/S2 should be locked down so you couldn't accidentally move those switches. Then Naza-M IOC is not for you until learn how master the basics because with your statement you are headed for trouble.
     
  9. macsoft

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    73
    IOC is great for my videographer
    Well... to each their own video style.
    I'm a videographer and I LOVE IOC.
    Great for those shots where you fly following the shore line, and when you pass your subject on the shore, you can yaw and keep the camera on him, wile the trajectory of the camera keeps going straight thru the shore line.
     
    Fplvert likes this.
  10. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    I agree Macsoft,

    Although, I would not say I'm a videographer, Course lock and Home lock are tools that I use when shooting real estate.

    ATTI has scared me once in high wind, but it is useful for practice when unable to get satelites.

    I've never tried Manual, and have it set for failsafe.