Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Naza-M Mode red lights?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Diesel31, Apr 16, 2014.

  1. Diesel31

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    I switched from Phantom 2 mode to Naza-M Mode. Even after letting it warm up, I'm still getting one flashing red light between flashing green lights. I interpreted this to mean I'm not getting all the satellites. I still flew it and it behaved normal, but still getting an intermittent red light.

    I switched it back to Phantom 2 mode and I'm getting all green lights with no red lights flashing. I was in the same location, so the satellite acquisition should be the same.

    Questions:

    1. Is my interpretation of the red lights in Naza-M Mode correct?
    2. If not, is there a problem with my Phantom?
    3. Why are the red lights not present when I'm in Phantom 2 mode?
     
  2. Marconi Union

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Frome, UK
    I'm getting the same kind of lights too so would like to know also:) I didn't even know there where two modes??? Where they too?
     
  3. Diesel31

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Within the Naza Assistant, you can change the mode by clicking the top right corner. It'll say either "Phantom 2" or "Naza-M". Clicking it will switch into that mode. Naza-M mode unleashes the full control potential of the Phantom 2.
     
  4. bernardb

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avon Indiana
    Also you should download and thoroughly read the Naza Quickstart Guide...it explains everything.
     
  5. Diesel31

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Did you mean me or Marconi Union?

    I did. My question is regarding the red lights. From the guide, it would appear that the flashing red light is from not acquiring all the satellites. I understand that. Even after waiting for it to acquire, I'm still getting one flashing red light between the green flashes. However, in Phantom 2 mode, I do not experience the same series of red lights. I am launching and acquiring satellites from the same position.

    Is it normal for the Phantom 2 Mode to take longer to acquire satellites versus the Naza-M Mode?
     
  6. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    You'll get the red followed by three greens if the GPS has only located 6 satellites. Once you hit 7 you should get all greens.

    The GPS spin up time shouldn't be any different between the two modes.... Mine takes anything from 10 seconds to 60 seconds. Just be patient and wait for 7 or more.
     
  7. Diesel31

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Thank you, GFR.

    I received my new Phantom 2 w/ H3-3D yesterday and tested it against my current P2. My new Phantom acquired all satellites and the red flashing lights went away. It did take a little longer than when in Phantom mode.

    At least I can now isolate the issue to the old Phantom. I've crashed this Phantom and I may have damaged more than what is visually detectable.
     
  8. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    It may be worth taking the lid off and unscrewing the GPS 'puck' and checking to make sure that the surrounding ceramic ring antenna isn't cracked or damaged in any way.THey are quite fragile and a crash could cause damage to it.