Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Naza from P2 on P1

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by simistef, Mar 29, 2015.

  1. simistef

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys,

    My flight controler on P1 has broke for some reason. I found on eBay the naza from a P2. Would this work on my P1 ?

    Thanks in advance,
    S
     
  2. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    It may. I'm not 100% sure if it will control the LED properly.

    However, your cheapest repair option will be to buy a Naza Lite for about $60, then upgrade it (google "naza lite upgrade").
     
  3. simistef

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for your reply. In the area I am living the cost for naza lite is higher, plus offers on eBay contains more that just naza. I'll give it a risk and looks like the led for v2 is only 20 usd.
     
  4. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    I can confirm that a P2 Naza will control the LED just like a P1 Naza does. (A P1 Naza will not control a P2's arm LEDs, however.) So a P2 Naza in a P1 should work okay.
     
  5. syotr

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    895
    Likes Received:
    134
    Does the P2 NAZA require the proprietary smart battery?
     
  6. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Ah, the battery! I'd forgotten about that.The Phantom 2 Naza does require a message from the smart battery in order to fly. You could probably hack around it with an Arduino, but I'm not aware of anybody who's done this yet.