Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Navigation strobe for P2V+

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Phantom_Menace66, May 24, 2014.

  1. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Not sure about anyone else but I have trouble seeing my P2V+ if it is more than 150m away during the day. often I can hear it but can't see it...
    I was wondering if anyone has thought of installing a small, but very bright blinking navigation light somewhere underneath like on a regular aircraft (but not as big obviously) so as to spot it easier against the bright sky? I have seen people add colored lights around it but I think these make them look more like toys and quite frankly, silly.

    Any info as to where one would get one & how to install it (voltage etc) would be appreciated :p
     
  2. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
  3. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
  4. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    Seriously?

    Where to get them is in the second link. How to fit them is in the first link if you read the thread.
     
  5. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    I did read the thread smart ***...

    The supplier is out of stock. As for the instructions on how to fit them, there's dozens of people asking the same thing, but there is not video/tutorial.
    The lights are mounted on a circuit board, I don't want that hanging off the side of the Phantom...
     
  6. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    Smart ***? lol. Just trying to help buddy, but won't waste my time in future.
     
  7. RedRyderMedia

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    31
    You could both dial it back a little. His Smart *** comment was uncalled for, but in his defense, the thread referenced is now 11 pages long. I read it all. There are several sources for at least three different versions of lights, some that seem to work and some that clearly don't, lots of other people asking for directions too and those that have supplied some have acknowledged they're not good at it.....OBTW, none of them have posted a video showing the Phantom during the daytime showing how well the lights work beyond sight of the Phantom itself.
    I appreciate your willingness to help, it wasn't a waste of time for me, but I'm still a little in the dark over the usefulness of this solution during the daytime.

    I'd appreciate any help in finding a way to better track my Phantom visually during the daytime. Thanks
     
  8. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    The one shown in the link is extremely bright, it would probably be easily spotted during the day. However, the lights used are fixed to a circuit board. Looking at my P2V+ the only place they could sit is on the outside & I don't want a circuit board attached to the side of it.
    I was thinking more along the lines of being able to drill a hole that the light sticks through.... I'll keep looking.
    Thanks & my apologies to RedRydermedia
     
  9. RedRyderMedia

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    31
    ^ one of the three options presented towards the end of the 11 pages of that thread had a version with the led at the end of a pigtail so the PCB could be mounted inside. That might be what you're looking for.
     
  10. tupes

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, La
  11. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Ok thanks I'll have a look :)
     
  12. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Ok I had a look but the actual light is mounted ON the PCB, would you not have to drill a big hole to poke the light through & somehow mount the PCB inside? There's not a lot of room or flat surface to mount anything on
     
  13. desertphantom

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here is a view on how I fitted it inside.(Main procedure is in the other thread). There is plenty of space and I fixed it with silicon sealant.
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Phantom_Menace66

    Joined:
    May 8, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Brilliant, ok I'll order a couple and you said the plug straight into the NAZA? There are several unused slots in the NAZA controller, which one supplies the power? Can I plug 2 in or have to splice the wires together?
     
  15. tupes

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, La
    I did mine the exact same way. I also plugged mine into the NAZA. With the props off plug the strobe into the naza and when they come on you can use that port. But to answer your question better I used the ones on the opposite side as this.
    [​IMG]
    I've plugged 3 strobes in the naza unit and used different ports all next to each other.
     
  16. tupes

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Orleans, La
    So has anyone else added strobes?