Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

name change on the drone

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by flyhigh101, May 22, 2016.

  1. flyhigh101

    Joined:
    May 4, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I wonder if anyone out there know how to change the name on the drone not the ssid but the name of the drone you can see the name if you look up the flight records on the dji go app and it'll show a picture of the drone with the name below it I done it once but I can't remember how I did it


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. henick

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    61
    You can't.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    US
    DJI must be able to do it somehow on their end. I've seen a few people post about asking them and they always refuse to do it for some reason.
     
  4. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Crap, I never tried, because I have only one P3S, but sending it to DJI twice, anyways I have got 4 names under flight log now.
     
  5. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,652
    Likes Received:
    5,705
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    I tried on chat and was told they couldn't but to call DJI ( China ? ) and they could . Never did but was what I was told .
     
  6. PhantomPlanet

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    41
    the fellow that bought mine is stuck with panties standard. but no, my current AC isn't named panties professional. :)
     
  7. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I don't know if that's funny or sick but....

    PP => Professional Panties?

    Never mind, Somebody must be.....
    ;)
     
  8. Justin Price

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    21
    You can change it in the app.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I will look but I have four different names in my flight logs.
     
    #9 RodPad, Jun 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2016
  10. Justin Price

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    21
    See here [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    PhantomPlanet likes this.
  11. EddieM

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Sanford, FL
    The newest version of the app will let you change the name as Justin pointed out. Then, after you fly, all the records will reflect the new name.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,653
    Likes Received:
    368
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Cool, when I get the nerve, I give it a spin.
     
  13. Malcolm Reynolds

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Julian, Ca.
    I couldn't find the "Device Name" option on my current version of DJI GO (Android 2.8.3) so I messaged Tech Support at DJI,
    They said the name is permanent.
    Here is a copy of the email they sent back:

    Jenny_J (DJI)
    8月12日 HKT08:18

    Dear David,

    Thank you for contacting DJI Technical Support.
    Please be advised that once you assigned a name to your unit, upon activation, you cannot re-name it. That will be its official name

    Thank you for your understanding.
    Best Regards,

    Jenny

    DJI NA TECHNICAL SUPPORT

    Tel Support: +1(818)235 0789 / Mon-Fri 7:00AM-5:00PM(PST)

    Online Support: http://www.dji.com/support#after
     
  14. Rick Hicks

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can change the name of your drone (at least on the P-4) and it's very easy. Connect DJI Go with the controller and drone. All the way right on the top is three dots that activate the General Settings. At the bottom above the "About" is Device Name; enter the new name and save.
     
  15. Malcolm Reynolds

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Julian, Ca.

    I keep seeing this, but I don't have that option with the current djigo software. Litchi allows a name change, but not djigo according to both my attempts and dji customer service. Did you actually have this work for you Rick?
     
  16. Rick Hicks

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes it did work for me. I couldn't think of a name (female) while I was signing in on the software ware so I gave it a ridiculous "Henrietta". Got to be worse name ever. DJI support told me it couldn't be done, but I lucked out and now Henrietta is Hawkeye II. Make sure everything is connected and on and you're in the camera communicating with the rci/drone.
     
    Malcolm Reynolds likes this.
  17. Malcolm Reynolds

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Julian, Ca.
    ok ill go give it another try right now. I'm using android and djigo ver 2.8.3 Are you using the same?
     
  18. Rick Hicks

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, I'm IOS on an iPad. That could be the difference.
     
  19. Malcolm Reynolds

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Julian, Ca.
    ok iv got an ipad, ill use that and see if it works. Ill post back with results
     
  20. sn0w

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was told by support you can only change your Phantom's name on ios devices. So in my case until I can borrow someones ios device im stuck with "Pimpmobile".....