Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

N/A Distance From Home

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by GreggC, Dec 4, 2015.

  1. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    Hey guys,
    Yesterday I went North about 7000',
    My distance traveled is showing,
    However distance from home showed N/A.
    Any thoughts ??
    [​IMG]
     
  2. rockydog

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    London UK
    The distance from home is the 7142.2 figure shown....the N/A is where info from the visual positioning system would show.
     
  3. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    Now Im confused,
    I thought the distance showing was the total distance traveled and the N/A was distance from the home point ??
     
  4. rockydog

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    London UK
    The top two figures show the height and distance you're at relative to the home point, and where the N/A symbol is will show information when you're flying using the VP mode.
     
  5. rwakins

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    22
    Did you get a Home point updated message before you took of off?
     
  6. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    Yes, I always listen for that.
    Plus I used RTH and it worked perfectly.
     
  7. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    One is distance from home and one is distance from controller if your mobile device has GPS. Once you get low enough to the ground, if VPS is enabled the distance from controller will switch to show that VPS is engaged and the altitude seen by the VPS system.
     
  8. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    Understood,
    Thank you,
    I don't know how I got that so wrong.
    So, if you take off 10' from where you're standing both those numbers should be the same ??
    Seems like mine are 300' / 400' different when both are reading.
     
  9. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    I need to make sure my GPS on the ipad is on, if off Im assuming thats why I got the N/A ??
     
  10. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    If you have a GPS enabled (cellular) ipad, the GPS should always be on as far as I know. I haven't heard of anyone turning their ipad GPS on or off, but that doesn't mean it's not possible. Someone who knows more will have to chime in on that part.

    If you have a wifi only iPad, it doesn't have GPS so you will not see a distance from controller.
     
  11. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    Hmm,
    I've seen the distance from controller in the past, yesterday it was N/A,
    Yesterday I set the ipad to "airplane mode" when flying...I bet that was it.
    Either way I now fully understand what I'm looking at,
    Thank you :)
     
  12. rockydog

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    London UK
    GPS on the iPad has got nothing to do with it.......the distance from the controller is transmitted by the lightbridge system built in to the controller and the Phantom. You will always have that information regardless of whether you have a cellular or non cellular pad.
    Maybe reading the manual would make things more clear.
     
  13. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    Read the instructions...what are you crazy ?? :)
     
  14. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    The distance from the home point, since technically you could walk 100 yards from the HP and your bird would have no idea that you did.
     
  15. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    Understood,
    Makes perfect sense now.
    I guess for some reason yesterday they weren't talking.
     
  16. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    GreggC, my app shows the sat view where yours shows radar, plus u have the app view as well, what setting am i missing cause i would love to fly with radar & sat view
     
  17. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    With respect sir, you are not correct. The P3 sets its homepoint at take off, and then transmits its distance from the homepoint via lightbridge. That is one of the two distances seen on the app.

    If there is no GPS at the controller, there is no way for the P3 to know where the controller is located, so functionalities such as follow me and showing distance from controller will not work.

    Distance from the homepoint will of course still work without GPS enabled on your mobile device, and that allows RTH to work.

    Did that clear it up for you?
     
  18. GreggC

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Rio Rancho NM
    I believe you can move the sat view to reveal the radar view.
     
  19. rockydog

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    London UK
    You're still not getting it.....The N/A
    They were talking....the 7142.2 figure is how far the craft said it was from the home point!
    The N/A information is only displayed when you're flying with the VPS system working and you're close to the ground...like flying inside a barn or a hall for example. Crazy as it sounds, reading the manual might be good!:):)
     
  20. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    1,478
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Sir, maybe these photos will help you to understand so can stop insisting that those who do understand should read the manual.

    In these photos, notice that the distance from homepoint is not changing as the controller moves away from the Phantom because the Phantom is not moving so it hasn't traveled anywhere. The distance from the controller however is changing (2.5M to 17.6M) as the controller moves away from the Phantom. This works when the mobile device attached to the controller has GPS. Note of course that in this particular case, VPS is disabled or it would be showing the VPS data instead.

    Credit to @Meta4 for the photos from the Saturday thread on this same topic.

    image.jpg
    image.jpg
     
    #20 Oso, Dec 4, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2015
    bbfpv likes this.