Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

My video recording keeps stopping by itself

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by RyanK, May 8, 2015.

  1. RyanK

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ok, so I've had about 4 or 5 flights now on my P3A, and one thing I've noticed is that my video recording will not stay going the entire time. For most of the flights, I was using a 32GB card (this one). Last night, it recorded for a little over 6 minutes and then stopped on its own . . . no warning, so I didn't even realize until after I had landed.

    Then tonight, it was way worse. I could barely record for a few seconds. I was using a different card (this one), however, this is the same card I use in my GoPro to record 1080 at 60 fps with no issues.

    Tomorrow I will try the card that it came with, but still, these are fast cards I'm using, they should work. Any ideas?
     
  2. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Format the card in the pilot app maybe?
     
  3. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    You have bought the wrong sd card,sorry.
    The sandisc ultra is notorious for being sub standard and although it is said to be class 10 and good enough for HD video recording it is not.
    These cards have been regularly failing when recording only 1080p so if you try to record 4K you will definately run into a failure.
    Take it back and demand a full refund.

    If you must use sandisc use the Extreme or Extreme plus.

    Better still get a Lexar 633x,that will work with 4K.
    http://au.lexar.com/microsd-633x

    Also don't buy any sd cards off the internet,there are too many counterfeit cards out there to take the risk.
     
  4. louforgiveno

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    251
    Are you maybe hitting the button on the controller ?
     
  5. RyanK

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    46
    The worst performer so far has been the Samsung card, which gets excellent ratings for 1080 recording, and I've used it many times for just that in my GoPro. And I'm pretty sure they are not counterfeit since I purchased both directly from Amazon prime.

    Lou, I'm 100% certain I'm not touching the record button. I can just watch it stop recording on its own.
     
  6. louforgiveno

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2015
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    251
    The only other reason I can think of why it would stop is if the camera is getting hot.....Do you hear fan spinning when phantom is on
    Actually another guess....what are the file sizes? because it automatically keeps clips under 4 gb....but it should seamlessly keep recording
     
  7. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    I have no personal experience with the samsung card but I'm very sure about the sandisc ultra and it's reputation as a bad card.
    If you try any one of the cards I suggested I'm sure your problem will go away.
     
    #7 PTCX, May 9, 2015
    Last edited: May 9, 2015
  8. Mikee

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yep sorry matey wrong card as stated.. my Gopro 3 black was a nightmare on 1080p with that card and I so I purchased the extreme version and all was good.... the video was jerky and would freeze with the ultra card
     
  9. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Toshiba cards are good, and inexpensive.
    Just bought a 32gb class 10 UHS-1 with 40mbs for £8.99 delivered.
    Watch out some are 'only' 30mbps but still described as UHS-1
     
  10. n6vmo

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Lompoc, CA.
    I have been using my 64GB SanDisk Ultra PLUS in my Hero3 black without an issue in 1080. Must be defective batches coming out of the factory.
     
  11. RyanK

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    46
    Well I tried again today with the card that came with the p3. No issues with that, so the problem is either write speeds or the formatting. I'll try reformatting with the p3 sometime and see if that makes a difference.
     
  12. Steve Shead

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Adding to this - second day of flying with a SanDisk Ultra 64GB and got sporadic issues when trying to record. It was ok yesterday though. Today is going to be quite hot (90 degrees F they say) so perhaps there are a couple of issues at play. I'll try reformatting before the next flight - if that doesn't work I'll put the 32GB Extreme Plus back in.
     
  13. sergekouper

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    London UK
    (Just in case), you have to format it in the phantom, not on your PC. But If the original one works fine, diagnostic is pretty clear. your card can't keep up. It's also a common issue with cards, when they stop recording, it's mostly because the data flow is too high for them. Personally, I use 32GB U3 Sandisk Extreme Pro. 1080p and DNG every 3sec. No issues.
     
    #13 sergekouper, Sep 6, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2015
    Steve Shead and Fplvert like this.
  14. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    I've had good luck with Lexar HD XC sd cards. I like the 32 or 64 Gig ones. They don't wear out, work in multiple devices, and I always carry spares. Nothing worse than having video stop or no card at all!
     
  15. Steve Shead

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Good idea - I didn't format it before I used it - just assumed it would work. I'll try that - I have a 32GB Extreme Plus as a backup.
     
  16. David Young

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having exactly the same problem but only since the last upgrade. I am using the SanDisk card but it has been fine in this P3A until the latest upgrade.

    Keen to find out if you find a solution before I blindly try other cards.
     
  17. RyanK

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    46
    I started recording in shorter chunks. Also got a different card. It's been doing fine since then.
     
    David Young likes this.
  18. Raceman17

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    17
    It's the card. I second or third what everyone has said. I had the same issue. Put a better card in and everything is good. For a test try to record in 4K and you will know real quick if the card you have will handle it.
     
  19. David Young

    Joined:
    May 14, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ryan, I'm not completely convinced on the 'it's the card' as it was working fine before the last upgrade'.

    Anyway, I have re-formatted the card and intend to do a test run tonight (weather permitting). For info, my card is not the 'dreaded scandisk ultra' that everyone is talking about, it is a Kingston class 10 card.
     
  20. 2319DroneFlyer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could possibly be out of space on the card if not get a san disk card.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app