My secret weapon for easy landings

Reaction score
As a newbie pilot I had trouble with my landings. The top heavy Phantom 2 Vision+ would often tip over and on one occasion damaged the props. Then I read about all the problems with ESCs burning out when the motors stop suddenly and my landings became rather stressful. I considered adding longer legs or other contraptions to the drone but they all added weight and drag not to mention cost. In the end I came up with a perfect solution. Try not to laugh.

k2-_668ec8a4-c053-4f43-93ea-d4b91ab3cfe5.v1.jpg

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Transformers-Polyester-Area-Rug-40-x-56/39082776

It is a kids Transformers rug from my local WalMart. It is light and small enough to carry easily. It offers a large enough area to set down on. It can be laid out on any solid ground or even low grass. If the drone does tip over the blades will hit the soft rug and not get damaged (I tested this). The drone does not bounce as much on the rug as it would on solid ground. I have only one tip over since I got this rug. I find it raised my confidence enough that I can now cooly take my time while setting down and simply concentrate on doing it as well as possible.

BTW at first I was dismayed that the only rugs WalMart carried were kids rugs like this. It is hard to act like a pro drone pilot when you unroll this thing. However after many successful landings, I have come to love it.

As a newbie pilot I had trouble with my landings. The top heavy Phantom 2 Vision+ would often tip over and on one occasion damaged the props. Then I read about all the problems with ESCs burning out when the motors stop suddenly and my landings became rather stressful. I considered adding longer legs or other contraptions to the drone but they all added weight and drag not to mention cost. In the end I came up with a perfect solution. Try not to laugh.

k2-_668ec8a4-c053-4f43-93ea-d4b91ab3cfe5.v1.jpg