Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

My Phantom 2 FPV Setup

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by Same0717, Jan 15, 2015.

  1. Same0717

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    First off Thank you to many on this forum for the great information! I read many posts on here as I learned to use my phantom and equipped it with its current FPV setup. Unfortunately I have yet to fully appreciate the setup as my Flysight Black Pearl monitor came with a battery that will not charge and is bubbling so I am waiting on a replacement. Anyway below is my setup which I look forward to hearing opinions on and maybe other new FPV members will find it useful as well just like I did with many posts as a researched, purchased and installed my components.

    DJI Phantom 2 ver. 2 w/ H3-3D gimbal
    GoPro Hero 3+ Black
    iOSD mini
    Flytrex Core
    ImmersionRC 600mw Tx
    FPLRV Antenna Kit
    BP 7ch Rx/monitor

    I am thinking I eventually want to add the iPad Ground Station capabilities as well for the ability to fly designated waypoint courses but haven't felt like spending another couple 100 dollars yet.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Upgraded FPLRV Antenna not pictured with controller.
     
  2. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
    We have a nearly identical setup. Only thing I don't have is the Flytrex core.

    My first Black Pearl would also not charge. And I have the same gimbal lock and same monitor mount, but I have a Rave Aerial mount on order to replace it.
     
  3. Same0717

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Small world! Generally you are happy with the set up ? Why are you getting the Rave Aerial mount instead ?
     
  4. Same0717

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Also for a user named Reoscorpio who sent me a message about where I got my monitor mount from. Being a new member to this forum it appears I can't send messages yet so I guess this is the best way to respond to your question. Here is a link to where I purchased the monitor mount pictured above.

    http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/FPV-Monitor-Mount-Kit.html
     
  5. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
    Even when folded, the carbon fiber mount does not allow me to store and transport my remote controller in my GPC backpack.
     
  6. Reoscorpio

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Lisle, IL

    Thanks! :)
     
  7. dptcalvin

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    12
  8. shward1

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a question for the original poster. What is the gimbal clip in your pictures? I've been trying to find one without any luck so far.
     
  9. QYV

    QYV

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    NYC
    nice looking setup mate. I know it's a little more expensive but I really like my RaveAerialVideo 3d-printed display mount, and I feel like it's a lot easier than the one in the OP pics... there's just so many screws and bolts and such.. the RAV one is a single piece just clip on, boom done.