"My Other Hobby is Ham Radio"

Reaction score
I'm looking forward to another "new trick for this old dog." I got into ham radio a few years back and now I'm going to finally "fly" my own aircraft. I'm lovin' retirement, in spite of the "growing old" part. Take a look at my website for the whole story. Thanks to all for being here– and for your patience!

See there? Forgot to give you the link: Home

Reactions: dirkclod and wa5tef
Hello up north, west central Indiana here. I grew up on the east coast of Viriginia and listened to WOWO in the '60's. It would make the bounce that far at night. Hope you enjoy your newest hobby.

Reactions: Hamguy
Howdy from Texas. I am an RC airplane pilot, dji Phantom fc40, and now my new P3S. Just upgraded the firmware about 30 minutes ago... I'm also a HAM as well... W5PDR.

KK5KGK

Although I've never done anything with it. Literally nothing. I have a radio and one of my producers wanted us all to take the class and the test and I figured why not?

It was a great learning experience. Can it bleed over into this hobby somehow? Was just wondering that the other day.

Seems like the two hobbies intersect quite often. Being licensed helps with nuances like FPV transmission frequencies, antenna building/theory and of course all of the electrical knowledge carries over. I know I have applied a lot of my amateur radio knowledge to this hobby.

Last edited by a moderator:
Seems like the two hobbies intersect quite often. Being licensed helps with nuances like FPV transmission frequencies, antenna building/theory and of course all of the electrical knowledge carries over. I know I have applied a lot of my amateur radio knowledge to this hobby.

73, KL3TX
Sweet! Good to know. Thanks.

Got my General ticket back in 1995. Had a great station at one time in the late '90's/early 2000's, but have been QRT (off the air) for many years now. Living in a small apartment now, makes it difficult to build even a modest station.

N1URQ here.

KK5KGK