Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

my first fly away

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by jamaf, Apr 22, 2014.

  1. jamaf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island British Columbia Canada
    Well it happened. I took my poor phantom over to my parents house to show my father. I had told him about the Phantom and he had seen some of my video's but he had never seen if fly. I was looking forward to letting try my FPV fat sharks.
    I had recently upgraded to 2.0 but had not flown since. Well I got set up in the back yard.. waited for the green GPS lights to flash and took off. As soon as I got airborn I knew something was off. The Phantom started to fly toward my dad. I corrected this and pushed the sticks to the right to get it out and away and flew out 50 ft to a clear spot ( my parents back yard goes over a cliff and then 40 ft down) I could tell by the way it was flying something was off. I let go of the sticks and the phantom went hard over to the left. I mean it went sideways and power dove into the ground. I watched in horror as pieces went flying as it hit the wet rocks and mud below. My boys retrieved the phantom from the wet ground. 3 blades broken and my FPV card smashed. The battery had popped out and my gimble and gopro were knocked off. The phantom itself seems ok. My gopro on the other hand.... Time will tell . The go pro does now not read the sd card. The great death film of this flight is corrupt and wont play. If I had to hazard a guess I would think that my compass was WAY off. Hindsight said that I should have calibrated the compass first but I have never had ANYTHING close to this happen before.

    I will attempt to put the pieces back together in the morning and hope that the little water that may have gotten into my gopro has dried. Time will tell :cry:
     
  2. Joel_t

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    1
    That sucks. Unfortunately one of the downsides to this thing is that crashes do happen. Hopefully you'll manage to rebuild and get back into the sky soon.
     
  3. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Sorry to hear, but at least you're fortunate that you were able to recover _something_ at least. (unlike mine which is still m.i.a.)

    It's not the compass that causes flyways. (at least in my opinion). I've read many stories where guys have had flyways after calibrating their compasses as well.
    I've driven 40-100 miles away without calibrating my compasses.
    -(tho my flyway occurred about 7 miles away).
     
  4. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    Had you calibrated the compass at all since upgrading to v2.0?
     
  5. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Awful man, I really feel for you. I always dread my first flight after a firmware upgrade. I always now do a full recalibration, not just the sticks. After an upgrade i always do a compass recalibration too even though I'm flying at the same location as before. I'm not saying this is the way to go for everyone but its what I do and I've been ok so far.

    Edit: BTW I'm on ver 3.0 with no issues.

    Sent from my Galaxy Note 8
     
  6. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    I agree, I think after a firmware update you need to treat it as if it's just come out of the box. Recalibrate everything, sticks, gibmal, compass, IMU.... do the lot!
     
  7. Miika

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    Have you imported the default settings that can be found from DJI's website every time you've updated the firmware?
     
  8. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    They are only for the Phantom 1. I am not sure but I think the OP has a P2.
     
  9. Eos630

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    You didn't say whether or not you had already tried, but you may be able to recover that corrupt file. PM me if you would like some help with it.
     
  10. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    A bad calibration is only one of numerous ways in which the compass can cause fly always. If you get the GPS forward adjusted course at significant odds with a nonlinear or simply very off compass heading, throw in some mild gyro errors and you have all the ingredients needed to cross the "fly away" tipping point.

    OP, why do you think the compass was way off? How, when and where did you last calibrate it?
     
  11. jamaf

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island British Columbia Canada

    No... and due to weather I had not flow it since as well
     
  12. Whiteram

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NY
    Agree. EPROM flash puts controller like right off the retail shelf. Can't over calibrate compass. Takes 30 seconds. Cheap insurance


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    So this isn't a fly away but a case where the compass was not calibrated after a new firmware. Unfortunately, DJI does not put this type of information in the documentation as it is an expensive lesson to learn.
     
  14. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    I kinda remember (memory not that good these days!) after a firmware upgrade is there not a notice to recalibrate? Maybe this should be more specific as to what should be recalibrated? I do everything, sticks, IMU, compass etc.

    Sent from Samsung S4 via Tapatalk
     
  15. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
    I think you're right, it definately pops up a wee window and talks about calibration.