My Experience / Issues / Resolution

Reaction score
Good morning-
I am very new to this forum, having only been a P2 owner since mid October. That's when I make the purchase , my first quad. I have tinkered with RC over the years, but it's been a while.. Wow, things have changed.

I thought I would outline my experience over the last month as perhaps it would be a benefit to someone as well as I would like to get other peoples thoughts.

My primary purpose for this purchase is that I am an avid photographer. Video is something new to me, but I was excited about the thought of getting into it this way. So, after a lot of research , I landed on a DJI product. After all the research, I purchased everything in one swoop:
Phantom 2
GoPro 4 Black (had just come out that day)
Travel Case
FPV setup (custom with DJI Transmitter)

I will admit, and expected, that as much as this was going to be a out of the box solution, i knew i needed practice and so there was no way i was going to start flying with the Gimbal and GoPro attached. After about a week of small flights and getting used to things, I decided it was time. Yes, I did break a few props on landing.. for what ever reason, i was over thinking all the time.

Well, after my 2nd flight with the GoPro on, I took it to a nice park for some fall foliage. I did everything right. Calibrated the compass, waited for GPS lock etc.... with utter shock and awe, after just a few minutes, the P2 was acting very flaky.. being new and not knowing what to do, my instinct was to start to bring it in.. at one point, the unit just started to take off, and i pushed to climb... despite this, it darted off left in a FAST decent... i nearly cried.. fortunately no one and nothing was damaged, beyond the unit.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LIkRUpat45M&index=3&list=PLBaOtHBH3hZixrfqBuHDwXDnAyK_1ZkyI