My crash and cheap h3-2d gimbal replacement

Reaction score
After logging many hours of perfect flights, the inevitable crash finally happened.
I accidentally switched into manual mode during an FPV (goggles) flight while my viewpoint was looking straight down. I have some experience in manual but still a beginner. My inexperience with manual, coupled with my viewpoint and disorientation at somewhat low altitude... you can guess what happened.
I hit some grass in a nearby park and when I went to get my Phantom 2, the battery and a broken propeller was sitting next to it, however the H3-2D gimbal and GoPro was nowhere to be found! I searched everywhere and the only thing I could think was a large area of waist high grass about 15ft away. I'm thinking it most have thrown the gimbal into the grass. By the way, I had two twist-ties holding the new mount plates together. Believe it or not, the metal mounting plate for the gimbal snapped in two places.
After a few hours of searching, it started to get dark so I decided to order a metal detector the next day to look for it. When I went back to the park, all the grass was freshly mowed! The camera and gimbal was nowhere. I found the mowing guy on a big riding mower, and he admitted something big and metal thrashed inside his mower, but at the end, only little pieces were left. So, while I was recording, no video could be recovered.

Now I'm left with no camera or gimbal and I'm grounded for FPV flying.

The GoPro Hero3+ Black and H3-2D gimbal worked really nice, but I don't feel much like dropping $700+ to replace it all. I'm not a professional photographer and don't need a perfect setup. I'm even considering buying a cheap CCD camera strictly for FPV flying, but I'll miss the tilt feature of a gimbal.