Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

My controller Bricked with a firmware upgrade

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by Steamboatphantom, Jun 6, 2014.

  1. Steamboatphantom

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my new Phantom and followed the setup directions to set it up. I pulled the controller in for calibration then clicked to upgrade the firmware and it crashed. I'm a computer guy and haven't been able to figure out how to fix it.

    Calling DJI is impossible with 4-6 calls a day all week and it either says they have high call volume and hangs up or puts me in the queue then hangs up and gives me the same message once I get to 5th in line.

    Any suggestions for how to fix this or get ahold of DJI? I've googled and search these forums but haven't found the right search to find anything useful.

    Thank you!
     
  2. JamesD

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Holden, Massachusetts
    I'd return it! Get a new one without any problems!

    Jimmy
     
  3. Steamboatphantom

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Jimmy! Im' hoping for a fix but it not I will send it back.
     
  4. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    I jotted this down a while ago. It may work for you. -

    How to unbrick remote after failed update:
    1- open up your remote control.
    2- press the small switch on the main board and turn on the power.
    3 - release the switch and all should be ok... You may need to turn off and on again.
    Now you can retry the firmware update.
     
  5. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    You probably know more than me but basically you need to find a way to manually download and apply that or a previous firmware.
    I did do something similar with Vantage Pro weather station :oops:
    Well actually the cat stood on my laptop keys while it was doing it and all went blank, but re-applying it fixed it.
     
  6. Steamboatphantom

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you MrC. I just tried this several times and got no response, the power light still doesn't turn on. I tried to turn on my Phantom to see if that needed to be on but that didn't change things either. The next thing I tried is plugging the usb cable into my computer with the Phantom RC software but it doesn't seem to see it either.

    Any more ideas?
     
  7. 440rt

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just had this happen to me too. Any help would be great. I tried the black button trick on the inside with the power and nothing. Does anyone know what to do? I would appreciate any help to get this back up and running. I shouldn't have messed with it.
     
  8. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    This might sound like a stupid ? but when you had the tx open are the wires that run from the battery compartment still plugged in and both wires attached to the the board or no breaks in the wires ????
     
  9. xsnrg

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having this problem too. Was there ever a resolution outside of purchasing a new controller?
     
  10. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    Can you folks having problems state where you bought your Phantom and what version?