My 2 cents on installing retractable landing gear on phantom 2v+ V3

Reaction score
Hi, don't want to discuss about pros and cons of Retracting gear, I just was curious to try it and I did. As I had to cope with something different from various howto you may find, I want to share my experience to help someone else. I bought hml350 V2, to have minimum amount of extra weight and because is triggered using the tilt knob of my stock RC (NPV581). to have an idea:

I studied this video to understand basis:

difference n.1: I couldn't insert servos cable through a hole in the air vent as in my phantom there is a PCB on the inner side of the air vent; for this reason I had the wires pass through the holes where the gear is attached to the body, polishing the hole just a little as the jumper is too big. see: IMG_0394.JPG
difference n.2: The X2 cable is NOT to be removed from NAZA, just plug it out on the receiver side and put the gear module in between (that's why is provided with female jumpers and not male...). In picture you see where X2 on Naza is hidden, use the other side! see: IMG_0389.JPG
difference n.3: compass module is (not) molded: trust youself and with a little knife or cutter or whatever open its little box and take it apart from the landing gear (sorry no pictures...)
difference n.4: the gear module: it is different from this but not in the procedure ::
pay attention from time 1.20: this is the procedure to trim open and close, otherwise will open for half the length or overclose. see: IMG_0391.JPG note red and blue circle for the switches. TIP: if you want to reset trimming and do it again push 3 times quickly the corresponding button, or play in some way with buttons until you get it... It took me 10 minutes of trying to figure out its logical.