Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Multiple P3's in Area

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Ronbo.mn, Dec 7, 2015.

  1. Ronbo.mn

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    13
    If there are multiple P3's in the area, does that create any problems with communications? In other words, if two or three of us are in the same area all on the same channel is that going to be a problem, or is there some sort of an unique id for my rc to my p3?
     
  2. sonof40

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    San Ramon, CA
    About a dozen, or more, of us were together flying last week end (SoutBay SF) and there were intermmitant signal losses for some of us but only briefly.
     
  3. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    There's a "unique id" from your rc to your phantom, but that's only so some random controller can't hijack your bird. The frequency range is still the same, which is where you could potentially run into trouble if you're on the same or nearby channels. I've heard that doing the manual channel hack and manually choosing channels for everyone flying helps quite a bit with this.
     
    BigAl07 likes this.
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,734
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    DJI have this worked out.
    I've done this sort of thing a few times with Phantoms and Inspire without problems.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Yes, same here. Have flown with a forum friend who can fly his Phantom 3 Advanced, right next to my Phantom 3 Pro' and never had any video or signal issues what so ever. In fact I actually used his phantom drone as a point of interest. ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
    #5 RedHotPoker, Dec 7, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2015
  6. Ronbo.mn

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    13

    So are you saying that if I and two or three others are flying together, on the same channel... DJI has it worked out and there will not be a problem? The times that you flew together, how did you have your channel set. Manually, without coordinating different channels, manually - coordinating different channels or on auto?
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,734
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    It just works ... like magic.
    You don't have to do anything.
    I'm not sure of the technicalities but the smart design engineers at DJI have it all worked out.
     
  8. Ronbo.mn

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks a lot to all for the help. I am glad this will not be an issue, if there are others around.