Moving the Phantom during initiation phase

Reaction score
After you have attached the battery to your Phantom it goes through the initiation phase (or what ever it is called). Closing the hatch in Phantom 1 might cause movement to the Phantom itself. After you have attached the battery, should you wait for some time before you start closing the hatch / or doing stuff that will cause movement to the Phantom. Is it okay to change the location or heading/rotation of the Phantom after it has initialized.

Miika said:
After you have attached the battery to your Phantom it goes through the initiation phase (or what ever it is called). Closing the hatch in Phantom 1 might cause movement to the Phantom itself. After you have attached the battery, should you wait for some time before you start closing the hatch / or doing stuff that will cause movement to the Phantom. Is it okay to change the location or heading/rotation of the Phantom after it has initialized.

I have a gimbal that takes 5 seconds to initialize, so I power up the Phantom, let the gimbal level out, and then tuck in the battery wires and close the door. I try not to move the craft while doing so, so it has a stable and steady compass reading to record course lock direction (the first set of rapidfire green flashes 30 seconds after bootup).

After course lock is recorded, you can relocate it as you wish before arming the motors. Note that your course lock heading will be different if you turn the craft after it is recorded.

Occasionally when I don't have a dry or clean enough surface to launch from I will hold it in my hands during initiation. Although I'm trying to keep it still there is definitely minor movement. I've never had a problem with this method so I don't see closing the battery hatch causing any problems.

derrickduff said: