Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Mounting a camera on top

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by phantomi, Oct 8, 2014.

  1. phantomi

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    62
    Hi. Can be there any problems with GPS reception if mounting a camera on top of a Phantom Vision?

    Thanks.
     
  2. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    The short answer i guess is yes. It will severely impair your ability to get satellites registered.

    Sent from Samsung S4 via Tapatalk
     
  3. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,246
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    CG could be an issue as well.
     
  4. walexx

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    1
    There was a video going around on youtube a few months ago of a guy who filmed his Phantom with a camera mounted on top. It was such a good video but for the life of me I just can't seem to find it :(.

    I want to get a mobious to mount on top of mine to film it flying just for fun :).
     
  5. IrishSights

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,410
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Bangor, Northern Ireland, UK
    Be prepared too fly in ATTI mode as the GPS WILL be impaired.

    Sent from Samsung S4 via Tapatalk
     
  6. smallman28

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you have any way of viewing your sat count just stick you hand on top of the Phantom and see how the count drops.
     
    WetDog likes this.
  7. ExtraKim

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kalmar, Sweden
    I have tried it with my Sony HDR-AS100VR action cam, the video was HORRIBLE. Took it off and bought a GoPro for the Zenmuse instead.
     
  8. fastsmiles

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx
    I have used a setup that places a mobius above the phantom, but making sure it is not directly over the GPS. I am out of town at the moment, but I will post a pic when I get back home. It worked well.
     
  9. fastsmiles

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Fort Worth, Tx
  10. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    Having it on a pole is probably the best solution. I agree that it would be a very bad idea to mount a camera directly atop the shell over the GPS antenna.
     
  11. AerialMickey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fastmiles, I would like get more information on how to mount a gimbal on top of a Phantom
     
  12. Rothgarr

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Connecticut
    The Phantoms are incredibly stable, even when they aren't counter-balanced:
     
  13. npalen

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Kansas
    That extreme cantilevered load is probably not much different than flying in high wind conditions. The props nearest the camera are probably working overtime.