Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Mount 2.4GHz Data Link inside or outside P2?

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by richparry, Sep 13, 2014.

  1. richparry

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    My PC GS will arrive in 2 days, I'm looking for advice on mounting the 2.4GHz Data Link hardware, my choices are mounting inside or outside the P2 (non-vision). Is there a preferred mounting for the Data Link on a Phanton 2 (non-vision)? Got any web links to examples?

    Here is the inside mounting method. http://skypixel.org/post/83254735947

    In case it matters, I will be using the PC GS, not the iPad GS version.

    thanks,
     
  2. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    Mine is Velcroed underneath behind the gimbal.
     
  3. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    I'd recommend not to. You'll get too much interference.
     
  4. bugeater

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I ask how you routed your antenna's? I have the iPad version and seemed to be getting some interference today when attempting the maiden GS voyage. Thanks in advance
     
  5. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
  6. Deathcode

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    I mounted mine inside and used the can bus leg for the antenna to come out, works perfectly fineI haven't checked for distance but based on the few flights I did this way, it worked just fine.
    Also, I got rid of the external can bus and soldered the cables directly to the connector, the can bus is bulky for no reason, so I save a couple of grams there and I was able to put the GS and the iOSD inside the frame. What can I say, I like things neat in the outside and there's no reason for the GS to be outside as far as I can tell.
     
  7. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I mounted mine inside as well as moved the can bus inside on a shorter cable. To save some weight I removed the cases from the data link and iOSD and shrink wrapped them saving 16.7g.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Chriserl

    Joined:
    May 25, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    I only got about 250 metres range when I put mine inside with 1 antenna coming out and down a leg and the other out the vent in the arm.
     
  9. Late_Great

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    Hi are you basing that on experience or just an assumption?
     
  10. ROBZTA

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    I dont like the GS datalink being on the inside because if I dont want to use it on a certain day You can't just take it out whenever you want, and its extra weight when your not using it.
    I mounted mine underneath my phantom 2.
    the cables bellow will allow you to mount inside or outside your phantom.

    LINKS:

    grace_arc | eBay

    dji can bus cable | eBay
     

    Attached Files:

    #10 ROBZTA, Apr 19, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2016
  11. ROBZTA

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
  12. ROBZTA

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1