Motor locked up, no light on that arm

Reaction score
I picked up a Phantom today at "Bargain Hunt" which is an overstock type store. It was a good deal but I was worried it wouldn't work correctly. I've had an AR Drone 2.0 for several months that I crashed badly and have been unable to get flying again, so I figured this would be a good upgrade.

The back left motor seems to be locked up. No big deal, I can replace that no problem. The only thing I'm worried about is that the LED on the bottom of that arm is not lighting up either. Since I'm new to the Phantom, what should be the first thing I check as far as diagnosing why that's not working?

Other than that the copter starts up and the other three motors go full throttle with no problem, so I'm hoping this is a relatively easy fix.

How comfortable are you with electronics? Would you consider opening it and checking the solder joints?

Also curious, was it bought as new or used?

It was bought used. The store it came from sells overstock and returns. I opened it up in the store to make sure everything was in there. I got it for $289 and they do offer returns so I felt like it was a safe gamble.

I'm fairly comfortable with electronics. I'm fine with opening it up and plan to do so tomorrow. The motor does turn but not nearly as easily as the others so I am assuming it is a bearing.

Laid GP said:
I'm fairly comfortable with electronics. I'm fine with opening it up and plan to do so tomorrow. The motor does turn but not nearly as easily as the others so I am assuming it is a bearing.

Double check that motor. Others have found a clip get out of position or even screws stuck in it. Might be worth checking before ordering replacements.

Good luck!