Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Most appropriate video editing software

Discussion in 'Editing (Photo and Video)' started by movius, Feb 3, 2016.

  1. movius

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    45
    Please don't shoot me if this subject has been done to death. I tried some search phrases but couldn't find any one thread on the subject so thought I'd capture all the wisdom here in one place!

    Here in windy, rainy and to be truthful, bloody awful UK, not being able to fly is becoming a major problem. Anyway, while waiting I thought I'd turn my attention to video editors for the 5 minutes of footage I have been able to collect in the past month!!

    Now, I've had a good look around the subject of video editors and I've watched YouTube, Udemy and various other video sites on the all singing, all dancing stuff like Final Cut Pro, Davinci Resolve etc. However, it seems that I'd have to remortgage the house to buy the hardware needed to set up a decent editing system. The wife ain't gonna go for that!

    My question then is simple, what have you guys found out there in the wild that can make a good job of the video created by the P3P etc? It doesn't have to be fancy, or flashy, or expensive. Just competent. If you could also highlight what pc / mac spec required that would be a bonus. The two seem to go very much hand in glove.

    Thanks in advance. David.
     
    eaglegoaltender and Rodger like this.
  2. PanBzoch

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Three words: Windows Movie Maker.
     
    ELHEAPO, deuter, NRJ and 1 other person like this.
  3. Richard W

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    East Coast, USA and CANADA
    Cale262 and movius like this.
  4. ApexP3Pilot

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    6
    I use Adobe premier elements. Does not cost an arm and a leg and still has pretty powerful features.
     
  5. Rodger

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Mobile, Alabama
    I'm relatively new at this, David. I've had some good success with Adobe Premier Elements. I also use Photoshop Elements. In the past (15 years or so) I've used the full blown Photoshop, but I find, these days, the "Elements" versions give me pretty much all the features I need and and they won't break the bank. Also, as of about 8 versions ago, Photoshop Elements processes "raw" stills. I'm using a laptop with an Intel Core i5 processor and 6 gigs of memory.
     
    movius likes this.
  6. Grant0605

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Maryland
    I've been using Adobe Premiere Pro and it's flawless. Windows movie maker is also good, just depends on what skill level you are at or what you want to learn. Premiere offers a ton of options and costs money as well, but you can learn a lot from it
     
    movius likes this.
  7. TDoodle

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    I'm a Nomad
    I use premiere pro. For the basics, there is a very shallow learning curve


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    movius likes this.
  8. Bidda

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Honefoss, Norway
    You get GoPro free for downloads, simple and OK for amateur ;-)
     
  9. movius

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    45
    Adobe seems to be coming up time and again. Do you have to use a pc / mac with a separate GPU and what do you guys suggest as the min spec for cpu and ram?

    I currently have a laptop with 8gb ram and an AMD A10 processor. Don't know how that compares to an Intel i3 or i5 though.

    As I mentioned, I'm finding you can't separate hardware and software.

    Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
     
    #9 movius, Feb 3, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2016
  10. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    I have been using Camtasia Studio for a while now. Has a really nice and easy to use interface and includes a screen recorder (should you need one). I recently changed over to Premiere because it has way more capabilities than Camtasia does.
     
    movius likes this.
  11. movius

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    45
    Isn't GoPro a camera?

    Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
     
  12. movius

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    45
    Do you know the recommended spec of the hardware for premiere? £17,50 a month for the software is OK but £1000+ for the hardware kinda hurts!

    Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
     
  13. ody

    ody

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    London ON, Canada
    OK, lets see where this goes.

    I've been using Wondershare Filmora for the past 6 months. (Running on a Windows 2003 server)(and Win XP on a laptop while I travel and do videos)

    I'm not a "video guy" and this was just easy to get, install, and I'm pretty happy with what I've been getting. Provo from the air (for samples)

    I'm sure its lacking all sorts of things, and I wouldn't mind comments from those in the know if this is a piece of crap compared to the Adobe products, or sufficient, and I should just continue with it.

    When I last checked, it was only good for 1920x1080 though.
    And I've wondered about "the next step" (aka 2.7k for my P3A)

    Comments please.
     
    movius likes this.
  14. Bidda

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Honefoss, Norway
    Yes, but they (4+) also take 4K video.... and have a video editor at home site, who is free to download. Before I have Pinnacle but with 4K you must have studio 19 ultimate and that costs some money...
     
    movius likes this.
  15. eaglegoaltender

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2016
    Messages:
    741
    Likes Received:
    273
    movius likes this.
  16. movius

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    45
    Hi Rodger, do you know how the Intel i5 compares to the AMD A10 processor by any chance? When I tried Resolve, it was like it had gone on strike. Gorgeous software but no chance on a laptop.

    Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
     
  17. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    I went with Cyberlink Power Director 14 about a month ago. So far no regrets. Price was right.
    Seems to me there is a free trial.

    By the way. The weather here in Canada sucks. Freezing rain and wind.
     
    Reed L likes this.
  18. ody

    ody

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    London ON, Canada
    14 Deg (57F) here in Southwestern Ontario today!
     
  19. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    if you are running a mac, iMovie is quite good. Not all the feature set of FCP but does a lot.

    Also its free if you have a recent mac, if not, its not much.
     
  20. Bidda

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Honefoss, Norway
    On Friday I get my new iMac mini 2,8 and look forward to try iMovie on my recent P3P videos.