More noob questions

Reaction score
Hello, I am noob with the PV2+. I have been flying a HeliMax 1sq Vcam for a few months off and on.

Ordered my PV2+ a week ago and it came 2 days ago, In the meantime while waiting for it I have spent numerous hours reading all manuals cover to cover (some parts are not that well written and are confusing). I have also looked at many many videos on the DJI web site and youtube, as well as the forums. Essentially, anything I could find.

I followed all instructions in the manual and videos. I updated the the controller and phantom firmware to the latest. Calibrated the sticks. It worked fine. I was able to calibrate the compass (though I had some difficulty).

I have not been able to get 6 GPS sats to lock steady, but I am not in a wide open space (yet). Will probably take it to an open spot this weekend. But it should be noted that both my Tom Tom and Garmin auto GPS's *easily* get 6+ sats in the same position in the yard.

Took it to my back yard for a few VERY short (30 seconds) low (10 ft) "test flights" seemed to work OK, but I was very nervous. Like most have mentioned, without GPS lock it tends to drift.

I have also found the throttle stick to be very touchy / sensitive and when lifting off it really takes off quickly with very little deflection of the stick. Is it advisable to adjust the sensitivity of this? If so, how?

I have a few questions regarding failsafe function:

The manual states:

The Phantom will enter Failsafe mode when its connection to the Remote Controller is lost. The Flight Control
System will automatically control the aircraft to return to home and land to prevent injury or damage.

Home Point: When the Phantom enters ’Ready to Fly’ from the ‘Ready to Fly status (non-GPS)’, the
GPS coordinates will be recorded and set as the home point.

1) When Remote Controller signal is lost, the aircraft will return to the recorded home point
coordinates and land.