Modify the H3-2D to Support Canon Point and Shoot

Reaction score
I've been lurking and doing research for weeks and searched this forum from end to end but could not find info.

I am a local home inspector in AZ looking to use a UAV to help me with doing roof inspections. I purchased an AR Drone at Christmas just to see what kind of issues would come up. What I need is more like a Phantom 2 or Vision. That said it looks like what I really need in particular is the Phantom 2 w/gimbal that would allow my camera to tilt and ZOOM.

In using the AR, w/WiFi, even with an extender I start getting video pixalization fairly quickly as I fly towards the back of a roof, I'm concerned about the WiFi video aspect of the Vision, and I can't zoom. I'm thinking I would be a lot better off with the 5.8Mh Phantom FPV.

I found the CHDK site, downloaded it to a Canon ELPH 300 HS, and can remotely control the shutter and zoom, in the case of the 300 HS that would be 5X optical zoom and image stabilization. I would also install FPV to a 7" screen on a tripod that would display what the 300 HS sees! all the time. Oh and I would need the DJI OSD module as well.

Appreciate that in my case I am generally taking still photos and then incorporating them into a PDF report with annotation! not really high resolution stuff.

So my question is what kind of tiltable, 2 axis gimbal could I mount under the Phantom 2 that would do the job?

In the case of the H3-2D, the GoPro weighs around 70 grams and my 300 HS. Weighs 120 wo/battery. I realize the H3-2D was designed specifically for the GoPro but the FC software appears to allow for gimbal adjustment. In the case of other after market gimbals there are servo adjustment procedures, why couldn't the H3-2D be adjusted for the 300 HS (120+ grams)? I realize no warranty, no guarantee, etc. but it seems doable?