Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Missing wifi and camera

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by Pauls007, Oct 14, 2015.

  1. Pauls007

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Missing wifi and camera on phantom 2 vision plus some one took it off and I purchased it, phantom flys great and I put a gimbal and go pro on it takes great pics, my question is there a good setup to do fpv and get good wifi, I am assuming the missing wifi has nothing to do with range control of bird as I fly pretty far but always in line of sight. Any help would be greatly appreciated thanks
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,529
    Location:
    US
    The Wi-Fi module is inside of the Phantom, so it's not really missing. You're just not using it. The range is not affected since the remote controller does not use Wi-Fi.

    For FPV, here are your best two options:

    1) OEM DJI camera
    2)
    GoPro Camera and the Quickrelease
     
    #2 msinger, Oct 14, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2015
  3. Pauls007

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    No they took out wifi module so should I get another Oem Dji one? Can get one for 169 plus shipping, thanks for reply new to this and my wife bought me a fc40 for Christmas took me till July to get it out and fly so worried about fly away, also I see some people have a cable to hook GoPro to something on gimbal I think again thanks
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,529
    Location:
    US
    #4 msinger, Oct 14, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2015
  5. Pauls007

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea the vision plus I picked up is in great shape other than they stripped the camera, gimbal and wifi module from inside other than that it flys great
     
  6. Pauls007

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got the extender the re 700
     
  7. Pauls007

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I should pick up wifi module, can I hook GoPro to it or the main board to get fpv
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,529
    Location:
    US
    I'm not aware of a method to do that. Perhaps someone else will chime in if they know.
     
  9. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Yeah... can be done.
    You will need the cabling for the wifi module. you will also need a $10 15cm Zenmuse cable. And obviously you will need go pro and H33D gimbal.
    All plug and play.

    Read Pitchers8811 comments. Learn more and read the whole thread. It will give you insight.
    http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2213815&page=17
     
  10. Pauls007

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I still need wifi transmitter for inside of phantom as this one had it taken out?
     
  11. Pauls007

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or will the h33d gimbal and cables plus go pro give me Fpv without wifi transmitter from inside phantom as mine was taken out?
     
  12. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    You will need the wifi module.
     
  13. Pauls007

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so got new wifi module, no gimbal yet can I hook up wifi module to get telemetry?