Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Missing rubber gimbal thingies?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by GenesisX, May 29, 2016.

  1. GenesisX

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Reading, MA
    I just noticed that my gimbal is held to the frame by only two of four clear plastic things. Should there be four? Here's a picture of where one is missing.

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    You should only have two pins installed. I loosely attached a thin, plastic zip tie in the other two holes. The idea is that it won't allow the camera to release from the Phantom if the pins break off in a crash.

    P3-ZipTie2.JPG
     
    mikesmiley and GenesisX like this.
  3. GenesisX

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Reading, MA
    Great, so they didn't fall out. Any idea why only two are used?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    You only need 2. But if you want to install another 2, then I'll sell you mine for $40 a pair..
     
    rbreban and FrequentFlyer like this.
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    Some people install all four. It sometimes causes a jello effect in the video though.
     
    Ted4797 likes this.
  6. GenesisX

    Joined:
    May 15, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Reading, MA
    Thanks for your kind offer, but I have extra ones.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,274
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Are the pins better then the zip ties? Honestly, I don't think that you need the pins at all because I want the little white shocks to be able to move freely and I think that the pins take away from that some, so I use zip ties adjusted loose to allow full vertical movement of the shocks.
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,116
    Likes Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    US
    No. You could use 4 zip ties too. I don't think it would give you different results than 2 pins and 2 zip ties though. The only real reason to use zip ties is that it makes it nearly impossible for the gimbal to separate from the Phantom.
     
    Reed L likes this.
  9. DDW

    DDW

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    13
    I actually was having issues with horizon tilt and then one day upon inspecting the shocks I noticed that one of them (without the pin) had gotten compressed and was keeping the lower plate from moving freely. One new shock absorber later and the horizon tilt was fixed.
     
  10. losman26

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    84
    I just bought a used p3 pro, and it had all 4 pins attached. I removed two of them. Your zip tie idea seems like a good idea.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. losman26

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    84
    Man, I think I'm having that problem. Are you referring to one new rubber piece or the pins that you replaced?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. stefan350

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    22
    You should have extra pins and absorbers. Normally there's only 2 installed.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. Imabiggles

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    84
    BTW, twine works too and would never transfer any vibration over the vibration isolators. Sometimes low tech is better.
     
  14. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    Never thought of twine. I use zip ties
     
  15. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    I use hemp twine, and eh, we can fly higher than ever. Hahaha
    Or just stick with regular "anti drop pins" and "vibration dampers".

    RedHotPoker
     
    Excavator99 likes this.
  16. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    can I get some? I have glaucoma. Seriously dude
     
  17. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    That eye condition must make VLOS difficult at the best of times for you... Best to have a spotter When ever you are flying high!! Hahaha... ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
  18. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    Like now dude
     
  19. matti

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    62
    Just the other day I wondered whether the IMU should be calibrated while the gimbal (not the legs or props) was level to fix the tilted horizon. ...but I guess those rubber dampers might soon be ~1° off-level again.