Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Messed up my camera settings on P3 Pro

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by kookjo, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. kookjo

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have been trying to research the manual settings for my P3 professional. Just took it out for a flight with some video and photos and was adjusting the wheel for camera settings on the right-hand side. What i ended up with is over and under exposed shots. If I have the camera on auto now is there a way to reset back to original settings? Also curious if there are any experts out there that feel like making adjustments in flight is necessary rather than just adjust in post? Thanks in advance for any assistance!!
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Auto is the original settings... but if you still think you need to reset the camera, there is a "reset camera" option in the settings menu.
     
  3. MikeON

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Even in Auto mode, the wheel can increase or decrease exposure. Check the EV setting (right under the System Status display) and turn the wheel to make it 0 to get no exposure compensation.
     
  4. kookjo

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for your responses, I found the reset button 5 min after posting, should have found on my own. As far as the EV setting, I need to do more research but would be interested on your perspective if you use the "over exposure warning" which creates the zebra stripes. If you use this function are you adjusting the camera on the fly to change exposure or pushing wheel to adjust shutter speed? I presume the auto function should limit the need to make adjustments for those of us who don't have the knowledge, yet, regarding manual adjustments for the camera settings. I know there are tutorials out there, just need to find the time. As always, thanks for taking the time to respond, much appreciated!

    Regards,
    Brad
     
  5. MikeON

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    I do use the over exposure warning. The histogram is also a useful tool. Nothing ruins an otherwise nice scenery picture than overexposed clouds in the sky. Both the over exposure warning and the histogram help prevent that.
     
  6. aburkefl

    Joined:
    May 18, 2015
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    30
    I get the histogram, and I agree - it's a very good tool. However, I think only the iOS (Apple) users can set the zebra stripes for overexposure. Those of us with Android devices still can't utilize that option.
     
  7. deltamike

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Shropshire (UK)

    In case of anyone reading this you can now get the Zebras.
     
    Drone5 likes this.