Me, App and DJI

Reaction score
I recon it is a good time now to introduce myself to this forum. I've been closely monitoring the discussions here for a long long time. But today(actually yesterday since it's already past midnight) I received my own Phantom 2 VISION+ v3.0.

I'm from Croatia, and although we Croatians are a really proud nation I believe it's not only subjective when I say that Croatia is an extremely beautiful country. I've traveled in many other countries but I always realized that fact again and again when I have been returning back home. Here is just a short sample of photos made with a Phantom at my test ground(island Hvar):

I got into the RC world a bit through my uncle who had different machines which we flew together, like classic helis, then small quads like Blade Nano and (not so small) 350QX with GoPro(Lost due to a fly away) and finally Phantom 2 VISION+ that he bought when the 350QX went away. The Phantom was a real revelation for me since my background is in computer science, hacking and professionally in IT industry. I immediately noticed the ability to program the Phantom since it had an OpenWRT enabled WiFi module on the copter itself and on the extender. But not only that, I started analyzing(reverse engineering) the underlying protocol that the DJI VISION app uses to communicate to the Phantom. My plan was to make an crazy great app for it once I grasped the protocol completely. I've burned quite some time on that.
And then DJI announced the holy grail of all those efforts: Software Development Kit or SDK in short. WOW, now officially DJI opened the platform for practically anybody to take and do with it whatever one wants. To create the app I imagined was now so much more reachable. However I didn't immediately jump in the development using the SDK.