Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. apollopark

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    First time posting here. Just got my kit in from Jake. Everything looks perfect. I'm just curious about a connection. On Maxx UAV website it shows the thicker insulated wire going from the remote to the input of the amplifiers. Wouldn't the thicker cable be for the amplifiers signal going from the amp to the antennas? Anyways I did it the way that made more sense to me, thicker to ant. panel. Any thoughts? [​IMG][​IMG]

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    phantom13flyer likes this.
  2. Tripc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    57
    Thick black wires go from where you drilled holes in radio to amp pack. Then thin wires go from amp pack to antenna.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. apollopark

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    I understand that, but I was referring to as of why it would be connected like that? Like is it done that way to keep the source signal clean of interference before it's amplified? That would be my only answer I could come up with

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  4. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    There was probably really no thought process in it, Jake is a great guy and has great customer service, but he's not an antenna expert! Run 'em whichever way works best for you. Or just order another set of the black cables RG 58's from these guys ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1466889931.179561.jpg
     
    apollopark likes this.
  5. miamijato

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    What kind of numbers are you getting, waiting for my radio on Monday, I'm curious......
     
  6. apollopark

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    Im in a pretty noisy area. Max distance so far is almost 10k. At first I wasn't getting great range and was switching channels from 32 down to 24. Having it on auto made a huge difference.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  7. miamijato

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    I thought it would do better, even in a noisy area....2.4ghz is just hard....
     
  8. JakeMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2015
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    371
    I've only done it the way shown on the website. I'm curious as to if it helps with range or not. For me, I max out my battery so let me know what kind of results you get Apollo.
     
  9. apollopark

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just stopped along the hwy here In a open area. Turned around at 18000ft at 65% and full bars! Sweet!!!! Time to pigtail some extra battery leads....

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  10. Tripc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    57
    Are you guys getting good range with the amps hooked up but not turned on. I can't get 100 feet with them off. But once I turn them on I get range
     
  11. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    With the amps hooked up to your controller but not turned on they will absorb the signal/energy being sent from your controller, so you will not burn up the controller like you would if you had no antennas hooked at all. But amps are not a pass-through, if they're not powered up your signal does not pass through them, it stops at them
    I understand what I'm saying, I'm just not smart enough to explain it, so I hope that helped
     
    Tripc likes this.
  12. Tripc

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    57
    that helps ...thanks a bunch.. so your saying that the normal signal just kinds of stops in the amp packs when they not turned on. So basically you have to have them on to fly the drone at all
     
    WilsonFlyer likes this.
  13. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,316
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    Yes if you don't plan on using the amps or your batteries dead for the amps, then disconnect the cable from the amps and go straight from antenna to controller. You can fly a little ways with the amps turned off but probably not far, maybe 1000 feet
     
  14. miamijato

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Pembroke Pines, FL
    sweet.......
     
  15. Wmich06

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2

    Did you install with the clean install kit?
     
  16. apollopark

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah i had some panel antennas i installed when i first got the bird, if you look at the pic the ant leads are coming out the factory holes

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
  17. Wmich06

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm on the edge of purchasing that kit, currently I can only get 1000-1200ft out without getting the weak image transmission error. Would you recommend this upgrade?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  18. MK47

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Im about to pull the trigger also
     
  19. apollopark

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    6
    100%. I had the same issue, veru noisey area and got about 1500ft and lost video. I upgraded to the rgtek panel antenna and got a little nore gain but not much,. After the Maxx uav kit i went out 12k on my first run in the same area, 28000 in a open area before turning back cause of battery.

    Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
     
    MK47 and GKPK like this.