Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

1. josephtarlecky

so i decided that my controller would be easier to manipulate if i mounted it on my tripod with gimbal on top. i'm a pro photographer so i already had the tripod in my arsenal. i took my first flight with it this morning and it's a dream to use. any tripod can be used and the manfrotto 393 gimbal is what i used and works well to accommodate the entire setup with the iPad air 2 as well.

Attached Files:

Lee SK, Zuzua, tonyt76 and 1 other person like this.
  2. SolarDude

Looks good.

I just ordered boosters to use with the same antenna you have. What kind of difference in range did you see after adding the boosters?

3. josephtarlecky

i went from going like 1 mile from my house to my last flight being 8 miles round trip the difference is tremendous!

4. SolarDude

Wow that's really encouraging to hear because with the same setup as you without boosters I get the same 1 mile range in the city from my back yard. With the larger DBS Maxx antenna I get about 1.25-1.35 miles with is better. I'm hoping I see something close to what your experiencing with the boosters installed.

Thanks for sharing.

5. tonyt76

How did you screw the gimbal into the the MaxxUav amp bracket?

6. josephtarlecky

that bracket that came with the gimbal was super glued to the bottom of the amp bracket with crazy glue gel!

7. Zuzua

This is a sweet setup. If I had seen this setup before I got the secraft RC tray, device holder and shoulder harness would have got this first. Don't get me wrong I love the setup I got, very comfortable.

8. josephtarlecky

Post a pic of your setup please

9. Zuzua

Will do by this weekend.

10. Zuzua

Here are the pix you asked for, let me know if you want close ups of the try and device holder

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

11. Zuzua

Close-up of the tray and device holder
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

12. Zuzua