Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Max file reached

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by New flyer, Jul 17, 2014.

  1. New flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a p2v with a 32 gb micro sd card. I have about 280 pictures it is to have capability to hold 12,000.
    Recently it shows "max file index is reached."
    Will not take any pictures. Otherwise flies well. Any thoughts.
     
  2. Geoelectro

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Houston Tx.
    There's a difference between total data storage and total number of files. (index) Since it says "max file INDEX reached" I suspect it can only account for that many individual files. If they were videos it could still reach an INDEX limit but would be utilizing much more actual data. Maybe?

    Geo
     
  3. BigTulsa

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    I've had WELL over 280 files in the directory of the 32gb microsd on my vision with no issues.

    Question: did you format the card via the vision APP on the camera? If not in the future you might try doing that instead.
     
  4. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    I reformat quite often after moving files to my PC. I transfer the files after flying, keeping the card mostly empty.
    Micro SD Cards are getting cheaper too.

    SanDisk 32GB microSDHC Memory Card Ultra Class 10 UHS-I with microSD Adapter just $17.95
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com
     
  5. New flyer

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will try it tomorrow. Emptied the disc and reformated it. Tried another disc before and it did the same.
     
  6. RCRookie

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    East Texas
    Was your SD Card a class 10 ?
    Also, has it ever been formatted OUTSIDE of the FC200 Camera ?

    Every format may not be compatible with the FC200 camera's version of formatting.
    I've never formatted my SD Card OTHER than in the FC200 card slot.

    Again, maybe its an indexing issue as Geoelectro suggests, new SD cards are cheap enough if its a card issue.