Max elevation?

Reaction score
First post, having run across this forum over the last few days. My P2V is in shipment, and I'm pretty stoked. I'm a fixed-wing (full-sized) pilot making my first foray into RC and helos. I'm a software guy by trade, and find the technology combination in the P2V astonishing (and looking forward to fully autonomous operation).

Anyhow, as I've been waiting for delivery, it occurred to me that the elevation of my home area might be an issue. I live at about 7000', and know well the issues surrounding density altitude and aircraft performance.

Does anyone have experience with the P2V at higher elevations? The videos seem to indicate that there's lots of excess lift available, so hopefully this will only result in reduced climb performance and shorter battery life (since it would presumably require higher RPMs to achieve the same lift as it would at sea level).

I did see one Youtube video with some Phantom variant operating at 15K MSL, so that was hopeful...

You won't have any issues at that altitude. Your flight time will be a little shorter compared to us low density altitude dwellers but otherwise be OK.

No issues. As mentioned the flight time might suffer. I'm a huge techie and this is my favorite tech toy of all time. You'll be amazed by its capabilities.

Well, after some negotiation (it was a birthday present from my wife, and my birthday isn't for another three weeks) I finally got to launch yesterday. (The delayed gratification gave me an opportunity to do a lot of reading and familiarization.)

I'm happy to report that the P2V still climbs like a rocket at 7000' (should be even more impressive at sea level!) In roughly 40 minutes of flight time I went from wobbly and terrified to semi-confident and merely scared (flying in reasonably close proximity to my house).