Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Max Altitude

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by AHole, Jan 18, 2016.

  1. AHole

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Completely new to this. If I have my max altitude set to 100m, how does the drone react if I fly over a cliff and suddenly it is 200m or 300m high? Will it return to home or ?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    jointeffort likes this.
  2. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    alt is measure from where you took off.
     
    jointeffort likes this.
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,624
    Location:
    US
    If you take off, ascend 10m, and fly straight over a cliff, your altitude will still be 10m. If you descend 20m, your altitude will then be -10m. Your Phantom doesn't know where the ground is located. It assumes 0m is at the altitude of the home point.
     
    jointeffort likes this.
  4. AHole

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. Jorgejim90

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    28
    Anybody got any experience offroading?
    I have a 2 passenger plaris rzr (dune buggy) and to go riding in the sand dunes but how will phantom react to ups and downs while in follow me, and most important, how does it react when am taking of ontop of a hill then landing it somewhere much lower.
    Will it try to readjust the original take off altitude or will it display negative altitude. Anyone knw?
     
    RZR_Jim likes this.
  6. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    326
    I would suggest you get an app called Autopilot, it will let you have more control over a follow me style video. Also if you take off from a mountain and ascend to the valley below it will display a negative altitude.
     
  7. RZR_Jim

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    You mean Polaris RZR like my avatar? I ride in the mountains so I may try to set up follow me in an open area while climbing switchbacks.

    The dunes will be more challenging (quick altitude change in a short distance). I think you have to set initial altitude higher than the dune your climbing and if starting at the top, the drone will remain at it's initial altitude as you descend in your RZR. Still think it's going to look cool. Do you happen to be a member of the RZR Forum?
     
  8. Jorgejim90

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    28
    Haha yeah barely noticed i typed it wrong.
    Coo i defenetly got to try it. I am actually not yet part
     
  9. Phill2

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    46
    I'm new to this too
    Can anyone advise on how to maintain an altitude (say 10 mtrs) while flying down a hill
    Thanks
    Phill
     
  10. Jorgejim90

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    28
    As far as i know you canot maintain an automatic height.
    You got a state of the art ap bro just keep an eye out at your altitude shouldnt be to hard
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,103
    Likes Received:
    5,624
    Location:
    US
    There is no way to automatically fly a route like this. You'll have to manually increase/decrease the altitude.
     
  12. Phill2

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2015
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    46
    Thanks Guys
    I'm rapidly learning to multi task between the screen , LOS and the sticks