Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Map accuracy

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by GearLoose, Jul 10, 2014.

  1. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'd be very cautious until you've flown several (or more) missions. A lot will depend on gps reception during the flight -- and because I fly in an area with lots of very tall trees, I figure that there's a good chance they will block at least some satellites if I fly below and close to the tree line.

    I also learned the hard way that adjusting your Phantom's compass to compensate for magnetic declination is vital for holding the quad close to the planned flight path.

    My current procedure is test fly a mission at 200-250' feet just to make sure there are no unexpected obstacles or detours. I fly FPV, especially watching for tree tops!
     
  2. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    In my experience its very accurate! will add a mission I completed 3 separate times from a "saved" template and replaced on the map... back soon with the mission to show you.
     
  3. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    This is a screen capture from the iPad of the route... not the exact same one as I did alter wp7.....slightly as you can see on the video below... the turns are "Back Turn" or BANK TURN as they should spell it in the program display, maybe on the next update they'll remember that bit... a 1.2km rout in 5 mins it estimates, it was a bit quicker in reality! 4.30ish
     

    Attached Files:

  4. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
  5. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    Simon... I don't have enough bandwidth (in Mexico) to watch your video but I wonder how you recorded the iPad screen?
     
  6. SimonH78

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    UK-Lancashire
    GearLoose

    To capture the screen - Press and hold the big circular home button on the bottom of the screen while at the same time pressing the Power button top right edge, like a camera shutter noise happens at the same time...
     
  7. tbwester

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    I makes maps for a living.

    The aerial images on google earth vs the GPS accuracy of the phantom. You could be off by as much as 9 feet from the "real" location.

    The phantoms accuracy is within 3 feet. And google maps is 6 feet. And that is horizontally.

    Vertically, Google maps could be off by a lot - so that is where I would give my drone the largest "cushion".