Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Many 1-2sec "Downlink data connection lost" during flights

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by neven, Aug 4, 2016.

  1. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    While troubleshooting another problem I came across hundreds of one to two second "Downlink data connection lost" messages in HD Notifications in all my flights after May 29th 2016. Most of them are 1.1sec long. They are not specific to any location, distance or height. When compared to Signal Map they seems to happen while signal is "green" well below 50 minor errors. Here are some links. First one is how all my flights looked before May 29th and rest is after. Setup is stock, some flights were done with Windsurfer.

    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters

    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters
    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters
    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters
    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters
    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters


    If someone could give me some explanation that would be great.
     
    #1 neven, Aug 4, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2016 at 2:54 PM
  2. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,020
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    One of your two transmitters could be out...
     
  3. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    On a bird or RC? What would be the best path to troubleshoot this? Get another RC and test with it?
     
  4. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,020
    Likes Received:
    1,175
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    My understanding is, it could be on either the bird or the RC. If the device was modded, it would be relatively easy to find the dead transceiver by inserting an in-line signal strength meter.

    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/catalog/51616.jpg

    Otherwise, you'll have to fool around with it to figure it out, if that's what the problem is.

    You would also want to know why it happened. Did you do a mod at some point?

    Disclaimer: I don't own a P3
     
  5. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    Everything is stock. I can actually see those short signal drops in app as signal bars go down and up really quick, while video signal stays full.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  6. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    Can I use P4 RC and pair it with my P3P?
     
  7. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    Have someone tried this? Can I use P4 remote controller with P3 Professional?