Manual mode is quite different! Almost crashed

Reaction score
Practicing manual mode tonight. I didn't realize if you cut the throttle it'll basically drop out of the sky! Thankfully I was testing at high altitude. Using FPV I didn't really realize it was dropping at first. Thankfully my brother was watching it and was like "Uh, the props aren't spinning!" and I throttled up just in time! Sorry for the noisy GoPro. I was trying a different mount.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1PbVCc7 ... e=youtu.be

I think there should be a BIG WARNING about manual mode for us noobs to quad flying.

Colin Guinn says in one of his videos that when your used to flying in GPS and ATTI mode you could give the manual mode a try.
What a laugh.

I thought I was a pretty good pilot in GPS and ATTI mode but what a hell of a difference manual mode is.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

GPS mode = GPS on and compass on and internal gyro-stabilization on
ATTI mode = GPS off and compass off and internal gyro-stabilization on
MANUAL mode = GPS off and compass off and internal gyro-stabilization off. Basically your on your own and good luck. (I admire manual mode flyers)

Very scary. In manual mode, the quad becomes a hell of a lot faster.
When you press up on the throttle it takes off like there's no tomorrow.
When you press right or left it will spin right round.

If your going to try manual mode for the first time then I suggest you either
A: fly very high to give your self a chance to recover if anything goes wrong.
B: Find yourself a very very very large piece of sponge, about one square mile of the stuff and fly over it.
C: Make very very very small adjustments to both the throttle and the direction sticks until you are declared an expert in quad flying.

I hope my advice stops people from crashing but not enjoying.

Good luck.

PS. I'm not that good so no more manual mode for me.