Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Manual mode attempt

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Happyflyer, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Took the camera off the P2V, attached the guards, and set S1 bottom to manual. In my yard I started the quad without props to see how much the motors would spin when switched to manual. With throttle in center, they did not sound like there would be enough power to lift. Shut down and placed the props on. powered up and got GPS. Switched to manual and gave some throttle. Best guess, not enough. Popped up two feet and flipped over. Shut it down quick. So tried the pop up in GPS to about 8 feet and switched to manual. Quad started to drop quick. Gave some throttle and kept it in the air, to some extent. Yo-Yo up and down and started to drift. Corrected drift and came down and bounced ground and fell over. Shut down quick.
    .
    Back in house: Guards off and camera back on and S1 set to Failsafe.
    .
    Opinion of manual: With lots of practice it could be done to keep flying. I would only consider it in a very wide open area.
    I will leave manual mode to those that want to "work" and "worry" their quad all the time. I just would not have any fun with that type of flying. Reminds me too much of that totally uncontrollable Hubsan X4.
     
  2. M.Tigelaar

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    You can try it a little higher (about30feet)
    If things go wrong you quickly switch back to GPS mode :D
    I find it exciting to have him hovering right for me in manual :)
     
  3. locoworks

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    10

    him???? its a her. :D
     
  4. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    And that is why GPS makes it so easy for anyone to fly when you are 100% responsible of the actions of the bird it takes skill . I ask you not to give up keep practicing you will gain a whole new respect for flying keeps you on your toes and tend to be more respect full about laws and safety .
    We never had the problems we are facing today because of GPS "smart RC's" .
    So keep practicing once you get it you'll love it .
    GL!
     
  5. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    When you say manual are you referring to atti mode.
     
  6. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    No Atti still uses GPS
    Manual you are in full Control keeping your bird in the air no help all you .
     
  7. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    So, I have a gimbal and I want to fly in manual mode. I also have a Mini IOSD. I know the OSD will show me how much I am banking but it might be tricky following the horizon line and not the landscape. How should I do this with the gimbal? Do I have to remove it every time I want to fly in manual mode?
     
  8. dlps73

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westmead,Australia
    If your IMU fails then switching to manual will be the only way you will be able to save the quad - keep practising......
     
  9. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    I take my gimbal off never tried with it on working on putting a hole in my dive case for the GP and running to my transmitter .
     
  10. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    What is the purpose of a hole in the dive case? To keep gimbal locked in place?
     
  11. rrmccabe

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    Ankeny, Iowa
    Does it? Except for when failsafe is invoked when you lose connection it was my understanding it did not.

    However ATTI uses the barometric pressure to maintain elevation and IMU, etc but did not think it relied on any GPS.

    What exactly does manual shut off?
     
  12. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    So I can use the USB for FPV . I don't think the gimbal will do well flipping and spinning so it comes off and cam goes in dive case incase I crash
     
  13. ProfessorStein

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    No, it doesn't.

    GPS ATTI (S1 in full up): full stabilization - GPS, gyros, barometer, compass

    ATTI (S1 in mid position): no GPS, but all other stabilization - gyros, barometer, compass

    Manual (S1 in full down, if so configured): all stabilization turned off


    AFAIK, there's no way to configure Manual mode on any switch/position other than S1, full down. Same with RTH/failsafe. So there's no way to have both available. It's one or the other.

    ATTI is always in the mid position on S1. Again, I don't believe there's a way to change that, at this time.
     
  14. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    Atti. still uses gyro/accelerometers (IMU) + barometer & compass thus maintains attitude.

    GPS only maintains X-Y when active.
     
  15. macheung

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    You don't really "need" a switch position for RTH as you can just turn off the tx.
     
  16. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    Thanks for the clarification I should have said GBC =Atti