Maiden flight!

Reaction score
So the p3a is updated and ready, the forecast at sunrise tomorrow is cloudy, 10-20mph winds and low chance of rain...

Will the maiden voyage take place before the bad weather returns!!

In the rain? It shouldn't. In 20MPH winds? I wouldn't.. Still don't. It's sunny every day here. The only time i decide not to fly is when the wind is more than 12 mph. I'm new at this though. There are guys on here that fly in rough winds all the time. As a first flight, I would want the wind to be minimal so that you can overcome any technical problems should they arise. Issues like... taking off and the bird switching to ATTI mode on it's own. If that happens in 3mph winds you would probably be pretty capable of flying it through that. If that happened in 20mph winds maybe not.

But then again if you are an experienced pilot go for it!

I've flown smaller quads in 10mph winds and they struggled, due to their size, but this is a large open space, at no more than 30 feet. Also have my handy annometer with me as a precaution!

Don't be impatient, wait till the conditions are just right before venturing out with your new Phantom. Once comfortable, 12-15 mph winds won't be an issue however, I would avoid the rain and as you could shorten the life of your bird very fast.

Reactions: m0j0
I've flown smaller quads in 10mph winds and they struggled, due to their size, but this is a large open space, at no more than 30 feet. Also have my handy annometer with me as a precaution!
The Phantom won't struggle in 10mph winds at all. I agree with the previous poster though. Be patient. Stay away from rain.

Reactions: 4wd
The Phantom won't struggle in 10mph winds at all. I agree with the previous poster though. Be patient. Stay away from rain.

Agreed, not flying it in the rain!!

Will just have to see if the weather gods are favourable, if not it stays in the case for now!