magnetic interference or GPS

Reaction score
I had just wrapped up updating all firmware earlier today, incl the tx. I had done a 15 minute test flight and re-calibrated the sticks and compass. I flew about 5 minutes above a park to make sure all was going well prior to pulling into my shooting position close to the bldg. No indication whatsoever that there were issues.

Re: flyaway - suspect magnetic interference or GPS

My money is on "rf interference". I've found when flying around heavily resendential and/or city structures my Phantom developes strange behavior, no actual fly-aways but have had it take off on it's own at full throttle under certain circumstances at particular locations. I'm an audio engineer by trade and use wireless mics often and know how RF signals can be compromised. Hell, a leaky microwave oven door seal can interfere with RF signal.

In your instance I'm sure lack of GPS sats probably contributed to your issue but I suspect RF interference is the main culprit.

Never fly in a city or town because every house has Wifi networks, in the US for example those are 10 times stronger as here in europe and quick yellow light means it lost your signal

Reactions: crane-man

justsomeguy said:
Daninho said:
Never fly in a city or town because every house has Wifi networks, in the US for example those are 10 times stronger as here in europe and quick yellow light means it lost your signal

There are hundreds of folks who have flown in cities and towns in the US without issue.

My experience, having flown in the same wifi-saturated US neighborhood dozens of times makes me think that your admonition is extreme.

wifi.jpg
true but there are also hundreds of ppl that have flown in the city and had fly aways :) I think the 2.4GHZ frequency is probably overcrowded cause of the wifi in every house

Step taken thus far: