Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

mac software for phantom 1

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Discussion' started by banele, Mar 22, 2014.

  1. banele

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys i have the phantom 1 and i only have mac computers i don't have a pc , does DJI have a mac software to calibrate the phantom 1 or is a link or a way i can get the application . please help
     
  2. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    There's only 2 possible ways of using a MAC on a P1. Either get the 2.4 Ground Station with blue tooth or add the blue tooth add on, then you can use wireless assistant software (free download from Apple app store) I can only confirm it works w/Ipad mini.
     
  3. Smithster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Collinsville QLD Australia
    I was using VMWare on the mac to run windoze and it worked ok. But, I've found a bluetooth unit with the PMU gives me options to change parameters in the field with an iPad mini. I've recently picked up a cheap widoze netbook, but as the iPad works better the new netbook sits in my shed to tune my motorcycle.
    Pity I can't use the iPad to upload, and edit, movie footage...
     
  4. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    you'd also have to install a PMU2 to your Phantom in order to then add a bluetooth module..
    and then on top of that, while you'd be able to do almost everything related to NAZA, the one thing those modules cannot do is firmware updates.

    Running a PC emulator on Mac is what most of us Mac users have done.
    I've been using Parallels, which is fairly popular.
    But I've heard good things about VirtualBox ( https://www.virtualbox.org ) which is free
    .tho you'd still need a version of Windows to run with it (might wanna try Windows7, heard Windows8 is tricky)
     
  5. andysydney

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am a long time Mac user who didn't want Windows cluttering up my laptop so I bought a very capable used Windows laptop running the very stable Windows 7 os. I found an older Panasonic Toughbook that was made to survive a war zone, for a little over $100. Craigslist is a goldmine for perfectly capable laptops that allow one to surf the Internet and run the Naza Assistant.