Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Low range on P3S solved! (and presentation!)

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Pablosubo, Feb 23, 2016.

  1. Pablosubo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Greetings everyone!
    My name is Pablo and I live in Argentina.
    I finally got my fist Phantom last month! I previously owned a toy quadcopter which altough it had a nice camera, on my fist trip to the mountain, a strong wind pushed him out of the reach of the RC and went straigh down a river!

    With the phantom, is like enetring a new leage! Videos are amazing!

    Enough presentation, lets get to the low range problems.

    I bought the P3S on jan 2015 and after unboxing I updated software to v1.8.0.0
    I noticeed at the very begining that the range was not OK. I´ve started to see erratic signal reception when I hit it 40 to 70 mts (either vertical or horizontal). Even using a printed windsuf antenna, the numbers where really bad.

    With the drone static in the air, on one moment I had full signal, and on other I got low RC signal warning, untill finally RTH was activated.

    (keep in mind thant since I´m in Argentina, my RC is set to CE most probably.

    At first I though it might be the wifi routers, the many trees arround, etc.

    But I tried some days later my drone on the farm and on the beach, with the same result.

    So, after reading & researching, relinking the RC, reading some more, calibrating RC, reading some more, calibrating the ICM and reading some more, I finally decided to open the RC.

    I´ts difficult to explain the releaf sensation when i slightly pressed the 5.8 pigtail connectod, and felt that unique sensation of the connector snapping in.

    After that and some hot glue later, Chorizo was tested (chorizo is like a "saugage" vey traditional during bbq´s, and its my P3S name). Got to 150 mts horizontal and 101 vertical with good signal, and altough i did had few signal lost, the RTH never got to kick in as the signal was recovered (keep in mind, a lot of tree, wifi, Mhz data links, etc. near-by).

    Conclusion, another P3S with the antenna connector unpluged, for the count!

    Regards!
    P.
     
    #1 Pablosubo, Feb 23, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2016
  2. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    love chorizo and eggs
     
  3. buford

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    146
    Pablo,
    Well, I learned something, you guys have to be on the lookout for errant wifi signals just like we do. I thought mistakenly that Argentina was a lot more sparsely dotted with cell signals and wifi.
    We have chorizo up here, some of it good, but some really bad. I had to try it several times before I got a taste of the good, and not something that squeezed out of a tube like tooth paste. Keep your props on. :)
     
  4. 10X

    10X

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    36
    I had the same issue. I found the plug while doing an Inspire tablet mount installation. I think my cable must have been connected but not snapped in as the range didn't change. I'm still about 1200ft max.
     
  5. Livin' it

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    St. John's county FL
    DBS mod will work wonders on both rc and FPV. I would recommend going to a wide open area and learning ALL functions especially manual RTH. Learning to fly ATTI is also a good idea. This should keep you challenged until you are ready to do the mod.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app