Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Lost mine today, RTH failed.

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Androne, Jan 2, 2016.

  1. Androne

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the guy who was asking about RTH, apparently it cannot be relied upon.
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    RTH is quite reliable but many users do not understand how it works or how to use it.
    How about some details of your incident?
     
    JBG likes this.
  3. rhoffart

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    RTH can only work if the RC and Aircraft can communicate. Hope you find it.
     
  4. Androne

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've lost signal in the past and it always returned. Same thing this time only it didn't come back. I calibrated the compass and had a green "safe to fly GPS mode" prior to takeoff. Rhoffart, It is my understanding that RTH is for when the controller loses communication with the craft.
     
  5. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Not true. If RC and the drone have lost communication with each other for a few seconds, the drone will automatically go into RTH mode.

    Androne, where was the set Home Point when you took off? Was the Home Point still the same place when it was lost?
     
    Suspended Moments, Adil J and JBG like this.
  6. rhoffart

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    Yes, I miss typed ... I meant RTH button.
     
    Brianziggy64 likes this.
  7. AIRNUTS

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    53
    Not true, if you loose radio communication with the aircraft after a couple of seconds the aircraft will initiate RTH .
     
    JonEQuest likes this.
  8. Volitant_Soul

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    From what I've read you need to do a compass calibration before every flight to be safe. You also want to make sure the rth attitude is set to clear any obstacles on the way back. RTH does not bring it in to where you took off from if it's within 30 meters it just lands where it is. Hopefully someone more knowledgeable can chime in.
     
    rhoffart likes this.
  9. candubob

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    21
    Most likely your home point was not set.
    I am grounded up north right now because it is too cold but I had used return to home at least 500 times.
    The only other possibilities are
    P3 ran into something on RTH OR
    You flew p3 into area with high interference such as urban area with lots of obstructions so no GPS.
     
  10. rhoffart

    Joined:
    May 11, 2015
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    188
    Location:
    Boerne, Texas
    I only calibrate the compass after firmware updates or if I'm moving location + 10 miles.
     
    BigHorny and JBG like this.
  11. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Yep. You don't need to calibrate every time you fly. If I go back to the same park to fly a week later, I don't calibrate the compass. I only calibrate mine if I fly in a different location.
     
    JBG likes this.
  12. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    This is not true.
    Unnecessary recalibration of the compass risks getting a bad calibration which can cause real problems.

    Read this to understand what compass calibration is all about and when it is necessary
    Compass Calibration, A Complete Primer | DJI Phantom Forum
     
  13. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    We would need a lot more information before anyone can get a good idea what happened in your case.
    You can start by uploading your flight record from the tablet to HealthyDrones.com (instructions on their site)
    Then post a link to the healthydrones analysis here
     
  14. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    Androne,
    Sorry to hear about your loss.
     
    #14 JKDSensei, Jan 2, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2016
    DownUnder likes this.
  15. Volitant_Soul

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    Would that be relative to where you live? Say less compass cal for open areas whereas urban areas need frequent compass cal?
     
  16. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Say if you always fly in the same park in an urban area, you still don't need to calibrate every time.
     
    JBG and Volitant_Soul like this.
  17. JKDSensei

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    1,511
    Likes Received:
    658
    Location:
    USA
    Some people say you don't need to recalibrate unless you go a long distance from the original point where you calibrated.
    But the deal is it's a MAGNETIC thing. You calibrate so the compass is adjusted for the magnetic properties in your area.
    Normally that won't change for quite a distance due to the Earth's magnetic field.
    That said, if I lived in Atlanta Georgia 25 miles from Stone Mountain and were to fly near Stone Mountain in Georgia,
    I would probably recalibrate.
    So you kinda need to consider the surroundings also.
    Obviously like you asserted, urban areas will have more magnetic disturbances than rural areas (usually).

    I think the important thing is to check the compass deviation in the app after you calibrate.
     
  18. moswissa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Los angeles
    RTH for me has been very reliable especially for the phantom 3. That baby turns home right when you initiate RTH.

    I had one issue with the p2v when I flew up 1200ft vertical from my position(stupid I know) and lost connection, my bird said it was going to RTH but wasn't moving probably because it was confused but eventually it came down. it was a scary 7 min tho. I thought it was going to run out of battery at 1200ft and come crashing! never doing that again.
     
    Mike Mauk likes this.
  19. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    3,450
    No ... Whether or not you are in a rural or urban area makes no difference.
    You can go for months without recalibrating.
    Your compass doesn't lose it's calibration.

    Read the link I posted above - understand compass calibration and fly safer.
     
    Mike Mauk, snowghost and kirk2579 like this.
  20. Ingsoc75

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    20
    I always have Trackimo on as a back up in case RTH fails.