Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Lost GPS at altitude

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Ed209, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Was flying today and lost GPS suddenly. Screen read "Compass Error" or something like that. I checked the log files and at the point of SHTF I see many entries in OSD.flycState switching between GPS_Atti and Atti.
    OSD.nonGPSCause lists YAW_ERROR_LARGE. Very strange. Luckily, I was able to bring it back in Atti and land safely. My flight record shows top speed was 48.1mph during the ordeal!

    There is a large radio tower nearby but I've never had a problem here before. In fact, just yesterday flew out over 2mi. I calibrated the compass and flew around fine for 2 more batteries. Very strange but I will be hesitant to fly this location again.
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I would second that-- Radio towers are not friendly structures to be around-- Glad you got it back and on the ground safely.:)
     
  3. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    I would check the GPS plug. Some users have had to put a wedge in between the male and female plug to keep it tight. Lost GPS can be a detriment .
     
  4. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    That would require opening the shell and voiding my warranty though right?
     
  5. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    What is the GPS plug? Maybe you are getting ready to teach me something.:D:D
     
  6. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
  7. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
  8. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    Glad it ended up well and always good to practice in Atti mode in case of these issues.
     
  9. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Coincidentally, I was practicing in Atti mode for the last 2 weeks!
     
    Jbundy63 likes this.
  10. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    It will have just thrown a compass error and gone into atti like it should do when the compass got bad data near the tower. no need to open it up and check anything. It's just doing what it should. It's designed to do just that in those situations in order to prevent a flyaway.
     
  11. yblaser

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    12
    I had the same problem several weeks ago, and have seen at least one other person report this as well. The app says it is a compass error, but the log only shows the YAW_ERROR_LARGE. In my case, I was 300 ft up and no where near anything that would cause interference so I would say it is unlikely the radio tower contributed to your problem. I have flown many times since and have not had the problem reoccur.
     
  12. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego

    "There is a large radio tower nearby but I've never had a problem here before."

    I have flown at my regular spot quite a bit! By a School most likely lots of routers and WIFI RF, Sometimes no problems other times it's pack up and go to my other less fun location for practice.
    So One day you mite be flying and possibly nothing is happening with the Radio tower, then another day it mite be working possibly a different spectrum that day, it's hard to see radio interference.
    As with Pre Flight checks everyone should document the time of day when our local spots result it great flying time and not so great, and always be ready for issues.

    BE prepared for that stuff, the forum has many posts of favorite spot problems. As I can Attest it happens.
     
  13. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    I had opened my shell up and inspected my ESC and motor wiring. Had to cut a line through the red stripes to open her up. Even lost one of the screws in one of the arms. Had to call DJI for service and sent it in for RMA . No problem at all for the repairs even though I had opened it. Told the tech I inspected the ESC and made sure the plugs were tight and they said no problem as long as nothing was modified including the controller.
     
    Ed209 likes this.
  14. Ed209

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    938
    Likes Received:
    423
    Good to know Roy. Thanks