Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Loss of Phantom 2 Vision + Gimbal control

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by nucadude, Apr 20, 2015.

  1. nucadude

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    All systems working as expected with unit. As part of pre-flight after a month of not flying went through complete calibrations and did "Advanced Calibration" for IMU. Accepted Advanced calibration OK. Did "power cycle" as requested and returned to RC calibration checks. All OK. Now here is the problem: Camera WiFi connects OK and can see the Phantom camera view, but the camera gimbal is totally non responsive and the camera just flops around loosely. No remote control at all. Gimbal is as if total failure with no response to control attempts. Did checks on control cables for camera and gimbal and all are secure. Did close inspection of the ribbon cable and all OK. No breaks of disconnects. Have gone through several software reloads and still no gimbal control or power. There is no typical gimbal shakes or humming usually found when camera/gimbal system fails. Gimbal just flops around loosely. Trying to resolve prior to sending to DJI for repair or resolution. Unit is only 6 months old, so still under warranty. Any thoughts or ideas would be welcome.
     
  2. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Any led lights on the gimbal (next to button). If its off, means no power to gimbal board and camera.
     
  3. Iain_P3

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Earth ( sometimes)
    I have a similar problem, usually solved by powering down then back up again.
     
    #3 Iain_P3, Apr 21, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2015
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Can you see if there is a gimbal firmware number when you look in the Phantom assist?
     
  5. Iain_P3

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Earth ( sometimes)
    I will have a look tonight, at work at the moment. Which screen do I find it? Updates?
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Under the upgrade page on the phantom assist.
     
  7. Iain_P3

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Earth ( sometimes)
  8. Iain_P3

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Earth ( sometimes)
    Curious about the " -1" under the Hardware ID, is that normal?
     
  9. nucadude

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes there is a green flashing light. Also when connected to the camera a picture is present and can be adjusted by the camera settings. Just no gimbal control what so ever.
     
  10. nucadude

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have gone thru all the firmware and upgraded to the latest versions just to make certain and then done both the "Basic & Advanced" Calibration of the IMU several times and thus done the Power Cycle as required many times. Still no gimbal response or control. It is as no power to the gimbal at all. Stump. This mysterious bug happen the last time I did all of the software upgrades and then "Advanced Calibration" during the first cycle. Gimbal control prior to all of the upgrade and calibration.

    Addition: I have noticed in the lated PT2 version of Phantom Assistant software, under the advanced settings option for "Gimbal" is available for the Naza-M options and the default is "On". Is this not for use in another type gimbal??
     
    #10 nucadude, Apr 23, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2015
  11. nucadude

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have looked under the upgrade option and find no "gimbal firmware" number.
     
  12. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Does the gimbal do the I initiation dance or does it just sit lop-sided with no movement? Power on the phantom and move the yaw sticks and see if the gimbal is moving the camera.
     
  13. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
  14. nucadude

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Where have you located this version of the "Phantom 2 vision app? I can find no specs for a "Zen IMU firmware settings in the software version 3.8
     
  15. nucadude

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK. In your screen shot of the PT you show a control panel as a "Phantom 2 vision +". My download for the Phantom 2 Vision _ shows v 3.8 for the PT app and the header is only for the "DJI Phantom 2 Vision" and has no "Zen IMU" option. Where did option this version of the PT control panel?
     
  16. Iain_P3

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Earth ( sometimes)
    This was off the DJI website for the Vision+ software downloads, I only have Version 3.6, will need to update it I think
     
  17. Iain_P3

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Earth ( sometimes)
    and I need to update the firmware to 3.12 as well it seems
     
  18. nucadude

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope does nothing-no dance or movement it just loosely sits there.
    OK. I have downloaded the latest PT2 and it again states that the title for PT2 is for the "DJI Phantom 2 Vision" and not the Vision +. Which does make sense since in the control panel for the present PT2 under "Advanced" it has a set for "Gimbal" but the controls are for the "Phantom 2 Vision" and not the Vision +. Hmm
    Every time I download the PT2 v3.8 I still get the "Phantom 2 Vision" and not the "Phantom 2 Vision+"
     
    #18 nucadude, Apr 23, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2015
    yoyo asturias likes this.
  19. Iain_P3

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Earth ( sometimes)
    Updated to Phantom Assistant Version 3.8

    PV2+3_3.14.gif

    An it insisted on updating all the firmware - including the new 3.14, so now I can't drop anything on the Japanese Prime Minister's house apparently.

    This is the screenshot of the "Updates" Gimbal firmware is still there, and the "Vision +" is there.
     
    #19 Iain_P3, Apr 27, 2015
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2015
  20. Patrickdiddly

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancashire
    I am having same trouble but my gimball moves from controller but not from Dji app...it's killing me!!!