Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Loss of GPS Signals in Ground Station

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by GustavL, Aug 24, 2014.

  1. GustavL

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Somerset West, South Africa
    Anybody got an idea what will happen if you loose GPS contact (less than 6 GPS satelites) when busy with a waypoint flight in Ground Station?

    Will it abort Ground Station and go into ATTI automatically? I normally fly in Naza GPS mode.

    I was merrily flying along this morning on on 8 or 9 satelites :) , but it suddenly dropped to 4 or 5 and I had to land in ATTI mode. Just wondering what would have happened if I was busy with a waypoint flight. :?:
     
  2. GustavL

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Somerset West, South Africa
    Thinking of it now, it might just want to land wherever it is.

    I don't know. Maybe somebody can help?
     
  3. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    I believe it will continue it's mission as long as it has a minimum of four satellites, it's called trilateration. Not sure what it will do if the number goes below four. Maybe auto land?
     
  4. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    I am assuming it's BVR and you can't see it to fly it back in atti mode.
     
  5. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    Second thoughts, if it gets lost, maybe it stops and asks a police man for directions...
     
  6. GustavL

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Somerset West, South Africa
    That was part of my original question. How do you get it out of Ground Station mode into ATTI. Flip switches or automatic?

    And if no police man around?
     
  7. Timsytanker

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bury St Edmunds England
    Just flicking S1 switch will disingage the GS.
     
  8. GustavL

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Somerset West, South Africa
    Thanks, will give it a try when the rain stops