Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Loss of control at 250 feet

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Hunter, Mar 17, 2015.

  1. Hunter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am experiencing a loss of control signal at 250 feet. I live out in the country with nothing around to interfere with the transmitter. I have 30+ flights on my phantom 2v+ 3.0 all the software is up to date and has flown reliably in the last couple of weeks. Yesterday I was try to take pictures of the sunset and lost signal at 250' straight up. Today I flew it with GS went out to its first waypoint, lost control signal on the way, flew to its 2nd waypoint and landed nicely in the cow pasture. The video feed was still working and I watched it set down on my iphone. I flipped it to fail safe as I saw it descending and I just continued to land.

    Everything is charged
    Compass calibrated before every flight
    Software 3.12
    Iphone 6+
    FCC mode on

    What am I missing?
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Straight above you is the trickiest angle to get good signal and where you expect to have problems.
    Go out further and up .
     
  3. Hunter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where I lost signal today I was 100 feet agl and 250 feet away. It is very strange acting why would it loose signal and then land instead of RTH?
     
  4. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Did it complete the ground station mission? It's not clear from the original post whether it did. Landing safely in the cow pasture? I understood that when a GS mission had completed that the phantom hovered until either told what to do next or the auto land kicked in due to the battery going flat.

    On all of the GS missions that I have flown, the phantom can get so far away behind buildings, trees, hills etc that both control signal and (especially) FPV are lost, but it continues on until the mission is complete.

    If yours didn't, and auto landed, then I would suspect something else to be the case, maybe with battery or data contact pins?
     
  5. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    The manual says when a GS mission completes, the Phantom returns to the home point and hovers.
     
  6. dalebb

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    Bakersfield, Ca.
    A solar flare hit the earth yesterday, I also had some issues with connecting to the bird but no crashes.
     
  7. Hunter

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    It only completed 2 of 4 waypoints. So it did not complete the mission. I am wondering if it could be a battery? the batteries only have a few flights on them.....
     
  8. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I'm with dalebb on this one. There was a severe geomagnetic storm in the atmosphere during the 17th.
     
  9. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Strange that it didn't complete the mission. I would be keeping an eye on that particular battery. If there wasn't enough juice to complete the mission it might have gone into auto land. I would run a test again in a big field on a day when solar activity is less just to be sure. You wouldn't want that battery to let you down.
     
  10. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,234
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I wonder if what happened during my flight on the 17th was due to the Geo-Storm?

    The 1st image shows the names of the columns in question. The 2nd images shows the issue on lines 138 & 139.

    Btw, if I wasn't logging the data I would not have known there was a problem. I actually log data using 2 data loggers at all times.
     

    Attached Files: