Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Losing wifi connection at only 25 meters

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Gaz80, Jul 24, 2016.

  1. Gaz80

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im a beginner to using my phantom 3 standard but only seem to be getting wifi connectiom till drone is about 25meters up and about 20meters out.
     
  2. RDZDroneFlier

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Texas
    When I go straight up I seem to lose TX signal as well. It bird out in front and up I get better signal

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. Gaz80

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    ive tried different locations but cant seem to get out more than about 50 metres before losing video feed I did a firmware update on the drone out of the box ive seen people on you tube getting out about 350 meters in urban areas I would be happy with that
     
  4. Gaz80

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    ive found a fix for this I downgraded the firmware back to 1.5.7 and just tested it now going double the altitude and distance with still good signal
    I had to download the firmware from here

    DJI Phantom Accessories & Tips - Phantom Help

    then put this file onto formatted sd card
    turn on drone and controller
    connect to dji go
    now insert sd card into camera
    drone will start to downgrade progress shows on app
    when finished turn everything off and on again

    that's it
     
  5. Hungluu165

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    My p3s has the same problem like yours but losing video signal at around 90-100 meters, I think it should have been much further range than that.
    After downgrading, how is the range of your p3s ehen flying in urban area?

    I will down grade my p3s firmware today following your post...:)



    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  6. Gaz80

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was much better after I did the downgrade,
    I did a test flight before and only got altitude of 25 meters before video dropped out, and after the downgrade went to 60 meters altitude with no loss of connection. I want to take it out to a big open space to test but wont have time till weekend.
     
  7. Gaz80

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can only go back one firmware so if your on 1.6 then you need the 1.5 firmware.
     
  8. Hungluu165

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine is 1.6.8 is it ok to downgrade to 1.5.7 ??


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  9. Gaz80

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I was on 1.6.8 and went to 1.5.7 you have to make sure its on the root of the sd card so not in any folder.
     
    Hungluu165 likes this.
  10. Gaz80

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Let us know how you get on m8 if you get chance to do a range test today.